SCAF finally reveals parliamentary elections dates and roadmap

Zeinab El Gundy, Tuesday 27 Sep 2011

Egypt's ruling military council announces schedule for long-awaited parliamentary elections with voting set to begin on 28 November, 2011

Egyptian elections
File image. (Photo: Reuters)

The ruling Supreme Council of the Armed Forces (SCAF) issued a decree on Tuesday which included the amendments to the parliamentary electoral law of Egypt, and which specified the dates of the stages of the elections, following discussions of the issue by the cabinet last week.

According to the decree, the Parliament (People's Assembly) elections will start on 28 November, 2011 and end on 3 January, 2012 while elections to the Upper House (Shura Council) will start on 29 January, 2012.  

The decree also included a detailed roadmap for the People's Assembly elections in three stages. The first stage will be held on 28 November, 2011 and will include the nine governorates of Cairo, Fayoum, Port Said, Damietta, Alexandria, Kafr El-Sheikh, Assiut, Luxor and the Red Sea.

The second stage will be held on 14 December, 2011, and will include the nine governorates of Giza, Beni Suef, Menoufiya, Sharqiya, Ismailiya, Suez, Beheira, Sohag and Aswan.

The third and final stage will be held on 3 January, 2012, and will include the nine governorates of Minya, Qalioubiya, Gharbiya , Daqahliya, North Sinai, South Sinai, Marsa Matrouh, Qena and New Valley.

The first session of the People's Assembly will be held on 16 March, 2012, while the first session of the Shurah Council will be held on 24 March, 2012.  

Search Keywords:
Short link: