Last Update 9:2
Tuesday, 07 July 2020

Egypt, Saudi Arabia, UAE and Bahrain release new Qatar-linked 'terrorist entities, individuals' list

Ahram Online , Tuesday 25 Jul 2017
From L to R: Leaders of UAE, Bahrain, Egypt, Saudi Arabia and Qatar
Views: 5021
Views: 5021

Egypt, Saudi Arabia, UAE and Bahrain have issued a joint statement on Monday designating nine entities and nine people as involved in terrorist activities and linked to the Arab gulf state of Qatar, state-run news agency MENA reported.

In a joint statement, nine charity entities were listed as linked to “terrorism" supported by Qatar, with three based in Yemen and six in Libya.

The statement also named nine individuals from different Arab nationalities as allegedly linked with terrorism, including Qatari, Kuwaiti, Yemeni, and Libyan nationals.

Last month, the four Arab states severed diplomatic ties and transport links with Qatar, accusing the oil-rich Gulf state of supporting terrorism and meddling in their internal affairs. Doha has denied the accusations.

Shortly after the severing of ties, the four countries released a list that included what it described as several terrorism financiers from businessmen, politicians and royal family members.

The list included Youssef El-Qaradawi, the 90-year-old Egyptian-Qatari scholar and spiritual leader of the Muslim Brotherhood organization, which has been designated a terrorist organization by Egypt, UAE and Saudi Arabia.

Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.