Last Update 23:16
Sunday, 20 October 2019

MPs walk out of parliament on Tuesday to protest 'bias' by speaker

Liberal, independent MPs walk out of assembly's 9th session to protest speaker's perceived bias towards FJP

Zeinab El Gundy, Tuesday 31 Jan 2012
Egypt's parliament (Photo: Reuters)
Views: 2252
Views: 2252

Parliamentarian Ziad El-Eleime announced on Twitter on Tuesday afternoon that MPs representing the Egyptian Social Democratic Party and the "Revolution Continues" coalition, along with several independent MPs, had walked out of Tuesday's parliamentary session to protest a perceived bias on the part of Parliamentary Speaker Saad El-Katatni regarding the latter's choice of speakers during the assembly's eighth and ninth sessions on Tuesday.

El-Eleimi and other MPs accused El-Katatni of being biased in favour of his Freedom and Justice Party (FJP).

El-Katatni stated at the beginning of the ninth session on Tuesday afternoon that 51 members of parliament had spoken during the assembly's ninth session on Tuesday morning.

Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.