Last Update 23:3
Thursday, 19 September 2019

Egypt's new governors sworn in

Seventeen newly appointed governors take oath of office in front of President Mohamed Morsi

Ahram Online , Monday 17 Jun 2013
Views: 785
Views: 785

Egypt's 17 newly appointed governors have taken their oaths of office in front of President Mohamed Morsi at the presidential palace.

President Morsi issued a decree announcing the appointments on Sunday.

Eleven of the country's 27 governorates now have Muslim Brotherhood governors.

At least nine other governorates are run by members of the military or police.

Ten governors were appointed in September.

Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.