Last Update 12:26
Wednesday, 16 October 2019

Egypt's new cabinet sworn in

Military chief Abdel-Fattah El-Sisi will continue as defence minister in the new cabinet

Ahram Online, Saturday 1 Mar 2014
New prime minister Ibrahim Mehleb and interim president Adly Mansour (Photo: Al-Ahram Arabic news website)
Views: 5039
Views: 5039

Egypt's newly formed cabinet, led by Prime Minister Ibrahim Mehleb, was sworn in on Saturday afternoon.

Mehleb was appointed by President Adly Mansour after the resignation of Hazem El-Beblawi on Monday.

Twenty ministers from the cabinet of outgoing prime minister Hazem El-Beblawi will retain their positions in the new cabinet.

Eleven new ministers have been selected.

The cabinet reshuffle saw 12 ministries merged to become six: the ministries of trade and investment were combined, as were the planning and cooperation ministries, the youth and sports ministries, the higher education and scientific research ministries, the local and administrative development ministries, and the ministries of transitional justice and of parliamentary affairs.

Field Marshal Abdel-Fatah El-Sisi, who is also the head of the Supreme Council of the Armed Forces, will continue as defence minister. If El-Sisi stands for president -- as is widely expected -- he must resign from his ministerial post and his position as head of the armed forces.

Interim President Adly Mansour issued on Wednesday a decree that states that the defence minister must be a military officer and have served in the armed forces at the rank of major general for at least five years.

Many of the outgoing cabinet's most highly recognised figures will not be joining the new lineup, including Hossam Eissa, who served as deputy prime minister and higher education minister, Kamal Abu-Eita, who was manpower minister, and finance minister Ahmed Galal.

Ministers from El-Beblawi's government who will remain in their posts are:

1. Minister of Defence Abdel-Fatah El-Sisi
2. Minister of Interior Mohamed Ibrahim
3. Minister of Tourism Hisham Zazou
4. Minister of Transportation Ibrahim Domeiri
5. Minister of Communication Atef Helmy
6. Minister of Local Development Adel Labib
7. Minister of Agriculture Ayman Abu Hadid
8. Minister of Antiquities Mohamed Ibrahim
9. Minister of Transitional Justice and National Reconciliation Amin A-Mahdy
10. Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment Mounir Fakhry Abdel-Noor.
11. Minister of Culture Saber Arab
12. Minister of Minister of Planning and International Cooperation Ashraf El-Arabi
13. Minister of Foreign Affairs Nabil Fahmy
14. Minister of Information Doreya Sharaf El-Din
15. Minister of Environment Laila Iskandar
16. Minister of Petroleum Sherif Ismail
17.Minister of Religious Endowments Mokhtar Gomaa
18.Minister of Education Mahmoud Abou El-Nasr
19. Minister of Irrigation and Water Resources Mohamed Abdel-Moteleb
20. Minister of Sports and Youth Khaled Abdel-Aziz

Newly appointed ministers:

1. Minister of Justice Nayer Abdel-Moneim Othman
2. Minister of Military Production Ibrahim Younis
3. Minister of Health Adel El-Adawi
4. Minister of Housing Mostafa Madbouli
5. Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research Wael El-Degwi
6. Minister of Manpower Nahed Ashri
7. Minister of Supply Khaled Hanafy
8. Minister of Electricity Mohamed Shaker
9. Minister of Finance Hani Qadri Demian
10. Minister of Social Solidarity Ghada Wali
11. Minister of Aviation Mohamed Hossam Kamal  

Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.