Last Update 22:6
Friday, 18 October 2019

Run-offs for final 13 seats in Egypt's new parliament set for next week

Ahram Online , Wednesday 9 Dec 2015
Egyptian parliamentary elections
Egyptian parliamentary elections (Bassam Al-Zoghby)
Views: 1777
Views: 1777

Run-offs for 13 seats contested earlier this week in the reruns in four electoral districts will take place next week.

According to HEC spokesperson Omar Marawan, none of the 26 individual candidates in two districts in Beni Suef, and one in each of Beheira and Alexandria, were successful in securing the 50-plus-one majority needed to win.

The run-offs will take place in the four districts on 14 and 15 December for Egyptians abroad and 15 and 16 December within Egypt.

So far, 316 independent candidates secured seats in the parliament and 239 party-affiliated candidates secured seats, constituting a total of 555 seats.

The total number of members in the new parliament will be 596.

Sixty-five members of the liberal Free Egyptians Party (FEP), founded by business and media tycoon Naguib Sawiris, secured the majority of independent seats among competing political parties.

Fifty members of Mostaqbal Watan (Future of Homeland) came in second among parties whose members secured independent seats in the two election phases.

The For the Love of Egypt electoral list, which supports the policies of President Abdel-Fattah El-Sisi, won all list-based seats in both stages of the elections.

Twenty-eight members of parliament will be appointed by the president.

So far, 183 parliamentary members have received their parliamentary membership cards, the secretary-general of the parliament, Ahmed Saad El-Din, said on Wednesday.

The first session of the parliament is due to take place before the end of the year.

According to media reports, Amna Nosseir, an Al-Azhar scholar who was among the winners in the For the Love of Egypt list, will chair the first session of the new parliament based on her age seniority according to parliamentary bylaws.

The parliament’s speaker and their deputies will be elected during the first session.

Since his election in June 2014, President El-Sisi has held legislative powers in the absence of a parliament.

The first task of the new parliament will be to vote within two weeks of convening on all laws issued by El-Sisi and his predecessor, interim president Adly Mansour, who held office from July 2013 to June 2014. 

Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.