Last Update 23:1
Monday, 09 December 2019

Egypt's hammer and tongs cabinet - who's who?

Sharaf's much-awaited, much reshuffled, cabinet includes 14 new ministers. Ahram Online gives the low down on the new appointees

Ahram Online, Thursday 21 Jul 2011
Egyptian Prime Minister Essam Sharaf (Photo: Reuters)
Views: 5816
Views: 5816

A short while ago, after days of political uncertainty and turmoil, Egypt’s Prime Minister Essam Sharaf announced the final make-up of his new cabinet. All new appointees have already been sworn in in front of Field Marshal, Mohamed Hussein Tantawi, the head of the ruling Supreme Council of the armed forces. Tantawi also held a short meeting with the new cabinet in its entirety.

Sharaf's reshuffled cabinet includes 14 new faces out of a total of 27 ministers.

Ahram Online has compiled a list of all new appointees.

Hazem Beblawi: deputy prime minister and minister of finance. The 74-year-old advisor at the Abu Dhabi-based Arab Monetary Fund will replace the controversial outgoing minister Samir Radwan.

Ali El-Salmi: deputy prime minister for political affairs. The 75-year-old will also become minister of public sector affairs. Salmi is a former minister of administrative development and was minister of monitoring in the late 1970s. He has written several books on management.

Mohamed Salem: minister of communications. Salem is a former military officer who graduated from the Military Institute of Technolgy in 1970. His resume reflects a long track record of experience in information technology and security. He has lectured for years on these issues at Cairo University and currently serves as chairman of the International Conference on Information Technology.

Mahmoud Issa: minister of trade and industry. Issa is a former chairman of the department of quality control at the same ministry.

Mohamed Kamel Amr: foreign minister, replacing Mohamed El-Orabi. Amr is Egypt’s former ambassador to Saudi Arabia.

Lotfi Kamal: minister of civil aviation. Kamal is the former chief-of-staff of the Air Force. Workers at Cairo International Airport have rejected the idea that Kamal or any other military figure head their ministry.

Mohamed Abdel Fadil El-Qossi: minister of religious endowments. El-Qossi is vice president of the World’s Association of Al-Azhar Graduates.

Mohamed Atia: minister of local development. Atia is a former first-deputy chairman of the Council of the State.

Moataz Khorshid: minister of higher education and scientific research. Khorshid is currently chairman of the Egyptian Software Engineers Association. Many opposed Khorshid’s nomination and alleged that he was once a member of Mubarak’s NDP.

Ibrahim Sabry: minister of military production, replacing Said Meshaal.

Amr Helmy: minister of health. The 62-year-old Helmi is a former dean of the National Liver Institute at the University of Menoufiya.  

Ali Zien El-Abdeen: minister of transportation. The 57-year-old engineer served as the director of Cairo Project Festival at Al-Futtaim Company. He has also published several studies on transport infrastructure.

Salah Farag: minister of agriculture.

Hashim Kandil: minister of irrigation and water resources. Kandil served as head of the Nile Department in the same ministry and was part of a team in charge of Egyptian-Sudanese Nile affairs.

The ministerial reshuffle has spared the current ministers of:

justice, interior, electricity, international cooperation, education, petroleum, culture, environment, tourism, manpower and labour, and social solidarity.

Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.