Last Update 1:6
Thursday, 27 June 2019

Finally, El-Ganzouri cabinet sworn in

After days of intense search and deliberations, newly-appointed government of PM Kamal El-Ganzouri was sworn in by the field marshal Tantawi; features a number of new faces - and a handful of old ones

Zeinab El Gundy , Wednesday 7 Dec 2011
Field Marshal Mohamed Hussein Tantawi (R), the head of the ruling Supreme Council of the Armed Forces (SCAF), meets with Egyptian former prime minister Kamal Ganzouri (Photo: Reuters)
Views: 7040
Views: 7040

The new government of Prime Minister Kamal El-Ganzouri was sworn in on Wednesday afternoon at the headquarters of the ruling Supreme Council of the Armed Forces (SCAF) in the presence of SCAF head Field-Marshal Hussein Tantawi. The new prime minister will be granted full executive authority except in issues related to military and judiciary affairs.

El-Ganzouri has faced difficulties forming his cabinet over the past two weeks, having been rebuffed by several revolutionary personalities who were offered cabinet portfolios. In the end, most of his appointed government will consist of academics and veteran bureaucrats.

El-Ganzouri’s new cabinet includes the following 28 ministers:

First-time ministers:

Police General Mohamed Ibrahim as minister of interior

Nadia Zakhary as minister of scientific research

Major General Ahmed Anis as minister of information

Judge Adel Abdel Hamid as minister of justice

Momtaz Said as minister of finance

Hassan Massoud as minister of civil aviation

Hassan Mustafa Khaled as minister of higher education

Foad ElNawawy as minister of health

Nagwa Hassan Khalil as minister of social affairs and insurance

Ashraf El-Sharqawy as minister of investment and businesses sector

Mostafa Kamel as minister of environment

Fathi Fekri as minister of labor force

Shaker Abdel Hamid as minister of culture

Gamal El-Arabi as minister of education

Mohamed Ibrahim Ali Sayed as minister of antiquities

Saad Nasar as minister of agriculture

Ministers of Sharaf's outgoing government:

Ambassador Mohamed Kamel Amr as minister of foreign affairs

Mounir Fakhry Abdel Nour as minister of tourism

Gouda Abdel Khalek as minister of food supply and internal commerce

Hisham Kandeel as minister of water and irrigation

Engineer Mohamed Abdullah Ghorab as minister of petroleum

Mohamed Fathi ElBaradei as minister of housing and new urban communities

Mohamed Salem as minister of telecommunication

Mahmoud Eissa minister of industry and foreign Trade

Major general Ali Ibrahim Sabry as minister of military production

Sheikh Mohamed El-Quosy as minister of religious endowments

Mubarak-era ministers:

Ambassador Faiza Abul Naga as minister of international cooperation and planning

Hassan Younes as minister of electricity

Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.