Last Update 10:33
Sunday, 20 October 2019

General Congregation to elect three bishops, one will succeed Coptic pope

Media advisor for Egyptian Evangelical Church clarifies selection process for choosing Pope Shenouda's successor

Ahram Online, Saturday 17 Mar 2012
Pope Shenouda
Pope Shenouda III died on Saturday at the age of 88
Views: 4317
Views: 4317

A General Congregation formed of the Holy Synod of the Coptic Orthodox Church and the General Lay Council of the Church, which are part of the Coptic Orthodox Church of Alexandria, will vote on three candidates from a pool of several nominees, one of whom will succeed Pope Shenouda III, who died on Saturday at the age of 88.

The names of the three bishops will be written on three papers, and a blindfolded child will randomly pick the next pope.

According to Ekram Lamei, the media adviser of the Egyptian Evangelical Church, this final step is designed to include “the will of God."

Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

18-03-2012 12:18am
pulpit search committee methods
Blessed Pope Shenouda passes.
Comment's Title

© 2010 Ahram Online.