Last Update 22:40
Sunday, 29 November 2020

Egypt’s Sisi ratifies law on redrawing electoral constituencies

Ahram Online , Monday 7 Sep 2020
A file photo of Egypt's President Abdel Fattah El-Sisi (Photo: Egyptian Presidency)
Views: 2627
Views: 2627

Egypt’s President Abdel-Fattah El-Sisi ratified on Monday a law on redrawing electoral constituencies that was passed by the parliament in August.

According to the law, there will be 143 electoral constituencies for the individual candidate system and four constituencies for the closed list system.

The law divides the 134 individual seats among Egypt’s 27 governorates as follows: Cairo (19), Giza (12), Alexandria (6), Port Said (2), Ismailia (3), Suez (one), Qalioubiya (6), Sharqiya (8), Daqahliya (10), Damietta (2), Kafr El-Sheikh (4), Gharbiya (7), Menoufiya (6), Beheira (9), Fayoum (4), Beni Suef (4), El-Minya (6), Assiut (4), Sohag (8), Qena (4), Luxor (3), Aswan (4), Marsa Matrouh (2), New Valley (2), Red Sea (2), North Sinai (2), South Sinai (2).

As for the party list constituencies, four will be created: Cairo and the Middle and South Nile Delta; the North and Middle and South of Upper Egypt; the Eastern Nile Delta; and the Western Nile Delta and Alexandria.

Egypt’s House of Representatives elections are expected to be held next November.

Search Keywords:
Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.