Last Update 22:43
Friday, 04 December 2020

Egypt's new regional governors: A who's who

President Morsi appoints new governors in ten out of 27 governorates, including Egypt's strategic North Sinai

Ahram Online, Tuesday 4 Sep 2012
Morsi appoints ten new governors
Egyptian President Mohammed Morsi speaks to reporters during a joint news conference, July 13, 2012 (Photo: AP)
Views: 7148
Views: 7148

The list of new governors is as follows:

Governor of Cairo: Osama Kamal, former head of Banha University and deputy head of the engineers syndicate

Governor of North Sinai: Maj. Gen. Sayed Abdel-Fatah Harhour, former military police general

Governor of Kafr El-Sheikh: Saad El-Husseini, leading Muslim Brotherhood  figure and former MP

Governor of Alexandria: Mohamed Atta Abbass, former deputy of the State Council

Governor of Minya: Yahia Eissa Farghaly, prominent Muslim Brotherhood figure in Minya and former professor at Minya University.

Governor of Assiut: Yehia Keshk, Muslim Brotherhood leader in Assiut, and professor of medicine at Assiut University.

Governor of Sohag: Yehia Hassanein Mekheimar, dean of the faculty of engineering at Sohag University.

Governor of Menoufiya: Mohamed Ali Beshr, member of the Guidance Bureau of the Muslim Brotherhood and professor in Menoufiya University.

Governor of Suez: Samir Aglan, former police general

Governor of the Red Sea: Maj. Gen. Mohamed Kamel, former general in the military's engineering division.

There are 27 governorates in total in Egypt.

Search Keywords:
Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.