Last Update 18:6
Monday, 19 October 2020

Egypt's Shura Council president-appointed members take oath

New Morsi appointed 90 members take constitutional oath on Wednesday, as two procedural meetings are scheduled to be held on same day

Ahram Online, Wednesday 26 Dec 2012
Shura Council
The members of Egypt's constitution committee meet at the Shura Council in Cairo September 11, 2012(Photo: Reuters)
Views: 1461
Views: 1461

The Islamist-dominated upper house of parliament (Shura Council) saw the new president-appointed 90 members take constitutional oath in a televised session on Wednesday.


The Shura Council is due to hold two procedural meetings on Wednesday in preparation for a new parliamentary season after assuming legislative power for the first time in 32 years.


The parliamentary upper chamber, which was protected from dissolution by a controversial presidential decree last month, will have the legislative authority until a new lower house of parliament is elected within two months after nearly 64 per cent of Egyptians approved the new constitution.


A number of prominent figures are among those appointed, including the deputy head of the Muslim Brotherhood's Freedom and Justice Party Essam El-Erian, former head of the military judiciary Adel El-Morsi, American University in Cairo professor Mona Makram Ebeid, and former MP Ramy Lakah.


Meanwhile, a number of opposition figures including journalists Wael Qandil and Gameela Abu-Ismail have declined presidential invitations to join the council.

Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.