Last Update 18:29
Sunday, 20 October 2019

Only half of Egyptian public universities will resume Saturday

Ten seats of higher learning to remain closed on 5 March despite announcements

Mohamed Habib, Friday 4 Mar 2011
Views: 919
Views: 919

Ten out of twenty public universities will not resume the academic year on Saturday.

The universities to remain closed are Al-Azhar University, Alexandria University, Tanta University, Mansoura University, Helwan University, Suez Canal University, El-Fayoum University, Kafr El-Sheikh University, Damanhour University and El-Minya University.

The midterm recess was initially supposed to end on 12 February, and this is the fourth week that university reopenings have been postponed.

Cairo, Ain Shams, Assiut, Zaqaziq, Menoufiya, South of the Valley, Beni Soueif, Sohag, Port Said and Banha Universities will all reopen on Saturday 5 March.

Search Keywords:
Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.