Last Update 21:45
Thursday, 14 November 2019

Bahaa Taher wishes Cairo Novel Forum award had gone to younger writer

Taher received the award for the body of his accomplishments and not just one novel, said Algerian novelist Waciny Laredj

Ahram Online , Sunday 22 Mar 2015
 Bahaa Taher
Egyptian renowned novelist, Bahaa Taher
Views: 1758
Views: 1758

Renowned Egyptian writer and novelist Bahaa Taher, who turned 80 this year, has won the award at Cairo's Sixth International Forum for the Arabic Novel, which was held between 15 and 18 March, under the title ‘The Transformations and Aesthetics of the Novelistic Form.’

The decision was announced on the 18th of March by the Algerian novelist Waciny Laredj, the head of the judging panel.

Laredj said that the award was granted to Taher for his literary achievement as a whole and not for one novel. He said that Taher has a legacy of half a century and his works can't be compared to any other young novelist, asserting at the same time that the panel's decision did not marginalise the youth 

The forum, which was held for the first time since the revolution, doubled the monetary value of the award this year to LE200, 000 ($26,000).

The judging panel was headed by Waciny Laredj, and included Egyptian critics Hussein Hamouda, Khairy Douma, Ibrahim Fathy, Syrian writer Sobhi Hadidi, Moroccan Said Yaqtin, Botrous Halaq, from Syria writer, Najwa Barakat from Lebanon, and Yehia Yakhlouf from Palestine.

Taher, the winner of the first Arabic Booker, said that he is pleased and honored to win the prize, yet he wished if it had been given to a young writer, saying that he knows many young writers, who deserved the prize.

Late Saudi novelist Abdel-Rahman Munif, Egyptian writer Sonallah Ibrahim, late Sudanese novelist Tayyeb Saleh, Egyptian writer Edward El-Kharrat, and Libyan writer Ibrahim El-Kouny won the prize in previous terms.

Cairo's International Forum for the Arabic Novel was held for the first time in 1998, and has not been held on a regular basis since then. This year's edition was in honour of the late Egyptian writer Fathy Ghanem.

Bahaa Taher (born on 13 January 1935) is one of Egypt's most notable novelists and writers, he was awarded the International Prize for Arabic fiction (Arabic Booker) in its first edition in 2008 and the Award of Merit in Literature. Taher's most famous novels are Sunset Oasis (2007), Love in Exile (1995), Aunt Safiyya and the Monastery.

Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.