Last Update 16:47
Sunday, 21 July 2019

Egypt's minister of culture and UNESCO receives Zayed Book awards

UNESCO received the award for its role in reinforcing dialogue between cultures

Ahram Online, Tuesday 6 Mar 2012
The Award
The award's board of trustees while announcing the winners
Views: 1341
Views: 1341

Sheikh Zayed Book Award has announced it’s prizes for 2012 in Abu Dhabi on Monday, granting Egypt’s minister of culture Shaker Abdul Hamid the prize in Arts for his book AlFann Wal Gharaba (Art and Strangeness), and granting it’s cultural prize to the United Nations Educational and Scientific and Cultural Organization UNESCO for its cultural role that helped enhance the dialogue between different cultures.

Young author prize went to Tunisian young writer Laila Oubaidy for her book AlFokaha Fil Islam (Humor in Islam), a study of the humor in the Islamic tradition. In the childhood literary section, the prize went to the renowned Lebanese writer, Abdou Wazen, a columnist at AlHayat Newspaper, for his book AlFatta allazi Absar Lawn Alhawa’ (The Kid who saw the color of the Air).

Translation prize went to the Tunisian professor Abou Yureb Almarzouki for his translation of the famous philosopher Edmund Husserl’s book (Ideas Pertaining to a Pure Phenomenology and to a Phenomenological Philosophy).

The prize established a new branch this year called Zayed book Award for best technology in the field of culture, and it went to the Bagou city, which was established in 1989 as a corner stone of an inclusive vision of knowledge development cities.

Publishing prize went to Peril publishing house for its role in verifying and translating the Arabic and Islamic manuscripts and issuing it in modern editions. The award board of trustees has withheld the prize in Literature and Best Contribution to the Development of a Country.

Zayed Book Award is an independent book award. Established in 2006 under the patronage of Abu Dhabi Authority for Culture & Heritage and presented annualy, the total sum of the prizes granted is 7 Million AED. Each winner receives a 750 thousand AED and a golden medal in addition to a certificate of the prize.

Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.