Last Update 15:6
Saturday, 21 September 2019

Saunders, Ellsberg among Carnegie Medal finalists

George Saunders, was named as the winner of the Man Booker Prize last week

AP , Wednesday 25 Oct 2017
Views: 5475
Views: 5475

Man Booker Prize winner George Saunders, National Book Award finalist Jesmyn Ward and Daniel Ellsberg of "The Pentagon Papers" fame are in the running for prizes handed out by the American Library Association.

The association announced fiction and nonfiction nominees on Wednesday for the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence. The winners, each of whom will receive $5,000, will be revealed in February during the ALA's annual midwinter meeting.

In fiction, Jennifer Egan has been cited for "Manhattan Beach," Ward for "Sing, Unburied, Sing" and Saunders for "Lincoln in the Bardo," winner of the Booker last week.

The nonfiction finalists are Ellsberg's "The Doomsday Machine: Confessions of a Nuclear War Planner," David Grann's "Killers of the Flower Moon" and Sherman Alexie's memoir "You Don't Have to Say You Love Me."

Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.