Last Update 20:27
Friday, 19 July 2019

French prosecutor says Germanwings co-pilot purposely crashed plane

AP , Thursday 26 Mar 2015
Airbus A320
A French gendarme helicopter flies over the moutainside crash site of an Airbus A320, near Seyne-les-Alpes, March 25, 2015 (Photo: Reuters)
Share/Bookmark
Views: 1181
Share/Bookmark
Views: 1181

Marseille prosecutor Brice Robin says pounding could be heard on the door during the final minutes as alarms sounded. He said the co-pilot "voluntarily" refused to open the door, and his breathing was normal throughout the final minutes of the flight.

He identified the pilot as a German national and who had never been flagged as a terrorist.

___

12:51 a.m. (1151 GMT 7:51 EDT)

French prosecutor says Germanwings co-pilot appeared to want to "destroy the plane." Prosecutor says information was pulled from the black box cockpit voice recorder, but the co-pilot did not say a word once the captain left the cockpit. "It was absolute silence in the cockpit," he said.

___

12:46 a.m. (1146 GMT 7:46 a.m. EDT)

says the co-pilot was alone at the controls of the Germanwings flight that slammed into an Alpine mountainside and "intentionally" sent the plane into the doomed descent.

___

12:14 a.m. (1114 GMT) 7:14 a.m. EDT

Duesseldorf airport says two special Lufthansa flights for relatives of the plane crash victims left for southern France Thursday morning. The German Parliament held a minute of silence for the victims, as did schools and companies in North Rhine-Westphalia, the state where Duesseldorf is located.

___

11:39 a.m. (1039 GMT, 6:39 a.m. EDT)

A Lufthansa plane carrying 62 relatives of victims who will visit the plane crash site in the French Alps has arrived in Marseille on a flight from Barcelona.

Lufthansa says they will meet up with 14 others who decided not to fly to France and instead took an overnight bus from Barcelona provided by the airline.

The airline said the relatives will be taken together "to the closest point possible to the accident zone, taking into account the difficult access conditions." Part of the zone is closed to everyone except crash investigators and experts removing remains of the victims.

___

10:42 a.m. (0942 GMT, 5:42 a.m. EDT)

An Airbus training video shows that the A320 cockpit has safeguards in case one pilot inside becomes incapacitated while the other is outside, or if both pilots inside are unconscious. Normally, someone trying to get into the cockpit requests access and a camera feed or peephole lets the pilot decide whether to accept or specifically deny access.

If there is no response, a member of the flight crew can tap in an emergency code again requesting access. If there is still no response, the door opens automatically. If, however, the person in the cockpit denies access after the emergency request, the door remains locked for five minutes, according to the Airbus video.

___

8:55 a.m. (0755 GMT, 3:55 a.m. EDT)

Lufthansa says the co-pilot joined Germanwings in September 2013, directly after training, and had flown 630 hours.

The captain had more than 6,000 hours of flying time and been Germanwings pilot since May 2014, having previously flown for Lufthansa and Condor, Lufthansa said.

___

8:20 a.m. (0720 GMT, 3:20 a.m. EDT)

An official with knowledge of the audio recordings from the Germanwings flight says one of the pilots apparently was locked out of the cockpit when the plane went down.

The official, who was not authorized to speak publicly about the investigation, told The Associated Press Thursday the details emerged from recordings recovered from the black box found among the debris of the pulverized aircraft.

Lufthansa on Thursday said it had no new information about the investigation and could neither confirm nor deny reports about the pilot.

Short link:

 

Email
 
Name
 
Comment's
Title
 
Comment
Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.
2



Hans, Berlin
28-03-2015 10:56am
0-
4+
There is no universally agreed-upon definition of terror
But I can say the following. War is the terrorism of the rich and the powerful, while terrorism is the war of the poor and the weak. Otherwise, why is it that the murder of 1000 Palestinian children by Israel is considered legitimate war of self-defense , while the killing of a few Jewish settlers is viewed as terrorism???
Email
 
Name
 
Comment's Title
 
Comment
1



Neo
26-03-2015 03:56pm
11-
16+
It is Terrorism
Media outlets and public officials are racing to rule out terrorism as the cause of the crash, thinking that they’re being fair to Muslims by going out of their way to rule it out. They are not, on the contrary, they are enforcing the stereotype that only acts committed by Muslim criminals is terrorism, while crimes committed by non-Muslims are just crimes. It is early tell, while the investigation is underway, however, if it ended up with the co-pilot crashing the plane on purpose, killing 150 innocent people, he is a Terrorist , whether he is Christian, Jew, or Muslim.
Email
 
Name
 
Comment's Title
 
Comment
Neo
27-03-2015 02:33pm
26-
2+
Selective
Sir, I just read it again, and if one applies your definition literary; this would include all the Israelis under Netanyahu leadership, all the Americans under Bush government, and all the Brits under Tony Blair. BUT I am not that extremist to label 400 million people as terrorists because of the criminal act of a few.
democracia
27-03-2015 12:02am
1-
28+
Definition of terrorism
Please, my dear friend: Read the definition of terrorism and then you will find that you are completely wrong in your conclusion.
Latest

© 2010 Ahram Online.