Last Update 9:55
Sunday, 15 September 2019

UN Security Council welcomes new members with flag ceremony

AP , Tuesday 2 Jan 2018
Views: 2008
Views: 2008

The United Nations Security Council has six new members: Equatorial Guinea, Ivory Coast, Kuwait, the Netherlands, Peru and Poland.

Their flags were installed outside the council chambers Tuesday in a ceremony arranged by Kazakhstan's ambassador, Kairat Umarov. His country currently holds the council presidency.

The 15-member council is the UN's most powerful body. China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States are permanent members, with veto power.

Other members are elected by the 193-member General Assembly for two-year terms. But this year, the Netherlands is filling out the second half of a term it shared with Italy.

Egypt, Japan, Senegal, Ukraine and Uruguay also finished their terms last year.

Winning a Security Council seat gives countries a strong voice in matters dealing with international peace and security.

Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.