Last Update 1:36
Saturday, 21 September 2019

Egypt, Eurasian Economic Union can sign free trade zone agreement in 2020: Russian minister

MENA , Sunday 23 Jun 2019
Denis Manturov
File photo: Russian Industry and Trade Minister Denis Manturov attends a session of the Energy Ministry's board in Moscow, Russia, April 8, 2016. REUTERS
Views: 1869
Views: 1869

Russian Minister of Industry and Trade Denis Manturov said on Friday the free trade zone agreement between Egypt and the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) can be signed in 2020.

"I believe there is a chance to complete work and sign the agreement at the EAEU level next year," Manturov said.

He added that the opportunity to sign an agreement in 2020 was discussed with Egyptian Minister of Trade and Industry Amr Nassar on the sidelines of St. Petersburg International Economic Forum in May.

The Eurasian Economic Union is an economic union of states located in central and northern Asia and Eastern Europe. 

The Treaty on the Eurasian Economic Union was signed in May 2014 by the leaders of Belarus, Kazakhstan and Russia, and came into force on 1 January 2015.

Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.