Last Update 18:5
Thursday, 14 November 2019

Egypt's 'The Square' wins Amnesty International award at Berlinale

'The Square' by Egyptian-American filmmaker Jehane Noujaim wins an independent jury award at the 64th Berlin International Film Festival

Ahram Online, Sunday 16 Feb 2014
The Square
Photo: Still from film 'The Square'
Views: 2400
Views: 2400

The Square, a two-hour documentary that chronicles over two years of revolution and political upheaval in Egypt, has been awarded the Amnesty International Film Prize at the 64th Berlin International Film Festival (Berlinale).

The prize is among the independent jury awards given during the festival, in parallel to official juries which award films and filmmakers with Golden, Silver and Crystal Bears.

Prior to its screening at the Berlinale, The Square had already won the Audience Award for World Cinema Documentary at the 2013 Sundance Film Festival, as well as the People’s Choice Award for Best Documentary at the Toronto International Film Festival. Recently, the film earned Egypt its very first Academy Award nomination in the documentary category.

Last month, director Jehane Nouajim was awarded the Directors Guild of America Outstanding Directorial Achievement Awards for The Square.

The film starring Khaled Abdalla, Magdy Ashour, Aida El-Kashef, Ramy Essam, Ahmed Hassan and Ragia Omran, is an immersive experience that transports viewers into the intense emotional dramas and personal stories behind the January 2011 uprising and its aftermath of military and short-lived Muslim Brotherhood rule.

This year, the 64th Berlin International Film Festival runs between 6 and 16 February. The festival featured five films by Egyptian directors: Jehane Noujaim's The Square; Arij: Scent of a Revolution directed by Viola Shafik; From Behind the Monument by Cairo-based visual artist and filmmaker Jasmina Metwaly; Shooting Stars Remind Me of Eavesdroppers by Maha Maamoun, and Om Amira by Naji Ismail.

Short film Dry Hot Summers, co-produced by Claudia Jubeh (Germany) and Hossam El-Ouan (Egypt), directed by Sherif El-Bendary, written by Nura El-Sheikh was awarded the Robert Bosch Stiftung prize in a ceremony held on Sunday 9 February during Berlinale Talents at the festival.

Search Keywords:
Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.