Last Update 12:22
Friday, 13 December 2019

Art Alert: 'Abu Hassan' and soloists in the Cairo Symphony Orchestra's showcase concert

Conducted by Nayer Nagui, the concert will feature the soloists from the Cairo Symphony Orchestra

Ahram Online , Tuesday 7 Jun 2016
Cairo Symphony Orchestra
Views: 1555
Views: 1555

This week's upcoming concert of the Cairo Symphony will take place on Saturday 11 June and will highlight the orchestra's soloists.

Dubbed the Orchestra Showcase, the concert will focus on the wind players and a violinist: Yasser El Serafi (violin), Ahmed Farag and Wessam Ahmed (oboes), Peter Olah (flute), Anatoly Kiselev (bassoon), Amr Abul Naga (horn).

The evening will open with Weber's Abu Hassan Overture, taking us to a story of a Baghdad caliph's cup-bearer. Abu Hassan is an overture to Weber's 1810 one-act comic opera based on a tale from One Thousand and One Nights.

From the oriental flavors, the orchestra will then move to play Khachaturian's Violin Concerto and orchestra in D minor, a composition that became one of the most important 20th century works in violin repertoire. The concerto earned Khachaturian Stalin Prize for arts in 1941.

The second half of the evening will include Martinu's Concerto for oboe and small orchestra H. 353, and Mozart's Sinfonia Concertante for flute, oboe, bassoon, horn and orchestra, K279b.

Saturday's orchestra performance will be conducted by Nayer Nagui.

Saturday 11 June, 9.30pm
Cairo Opera House, main hall, Zamalek, Cairo

For more arts and culture news and updates, follow Ahram Online Arts and Culture on Twitter at @AhramOnlineArts and on Facebook at Ahram Online: Arts & Culture


Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.