Last Update 21:38
Wednesday, 21 November 2018

PROGRAMME: 14th Bibliotheca Alexandrina Int'l Summer Festival

The Bibliotheca Alexandrina’s 14th annual International Summer Festival will take place between 29 July and 8 September, offering a rich programme for all musical tastes alongside film screenings, plays and theatre

Ahram Online , Monday 11 Jul 2016
Alex festival
Share/Bookmark
Views: 10092
Share/Bookmark
Views: 10092

Organised by the Bibliotheca Alexandrina Arts Centre, this year’s edition will bring over 40 cultural events, ranging from music and theatre to film and traditional dance, to the Mediterranean city.

The music programme promises a vibrant line-up with concerts by an array of established singers and musicians from Egypt and the region, from opening act Marcel Khalife to Soad Massi closing the festival, from independent rock and fusion bands to jazz, folklore and orchestral music. 

The festival will be topped with several film screenings and plays

Events take place across a variety of venues at the Bibliotheca Alexandrina in Alexandria. Events start at 8:30pm unless otherwise noted.

Friday 29 July
Marcel Khalife (Lebanon)
Great Hall

Saturday 30 July
Basata band (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

Marcel Khalife
Marcel Khalife (Photo: Al Ahram)


Sunday 31 July
El Nafeekha band (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

Monday 1 August
Kathakali dance (India)
Open Air Theatre

Tuesday 2 August
Samaei band (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

Wednesday 3 August
Eftekasat band (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

Thursday 4 August
Faia Younan (Syria)
Open Air Theatre

Friday 5 August
Hani Shaker (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

Saturday 6 August
Concert conducted by Selim Sahab (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre
The event is cancelled

Aqsa Alwasat band (Egypt)
Small Theatre

Basata
Basata band (Photo: Event Facebook page)


Sunday 7 August
‘Music from here’ concert with bands Soot Fel Zahma and Wasla (Egypt)
concert in cooperation with Goethe Institute in Alexandria
Open Air Theatre

Monday 8 August
Les Compagnons
Open Air Theatre

Tuesday 9 August
Folkloric bands from Nubia and Sudan
Open Air Theatre

Wednesday 10 August
Boghdadi band performs jazz music (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

Thursday 11 August
Fouad and Mounib (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

Friday 12 August
Black Theama band (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre, 9pm

Saturday 13 August
Ali El Haggar (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

Birthday of a Marionette: Theatre dance (Egypt)
Director and choreographer: Mohamed Abdel Sabour
Small Theatre, 8pm

Black Theama
Black Theama (Photo: Butheina Shalan)


Sunday 14 August
Massar Egbari band (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

Jazz music (Slovenia)
Small Theatre, 8pm

Monday 15 August
Ali El-Helbawy (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

Tuesday 16 August
Omar Khairat accompanied by the Bibliotheca Alexandrina Orchestra (Egypt)
Great Hall

Wednesday 17 August
Omar Khairat accompanied by the Bibiotheca Alexandrina Orchestra (Egypt)
Great Hall

Thursday 18 August
The Jets Band (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

Friday 19 August
Qarar Ezala band (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

A play for children (Egypt)
Small Theatre, 7:30pm

Saturday 20 August
Bibliotheca Alexandrina Orchestra conducted by Khaled El-Showeikh (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

A play for children (Egypt)
Small Theatre, 7:30pm

Massar Egbari
Massar Egbari (Photo: Corinne Grassi)


Sunday 21 August
The Wave Jazz band (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

Monday 22 August
Sheikh Alzain (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

Tuesday 23 August
Karakeeb band (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

Wednesday 24 August
Ahmed Al Haggar (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

Thursday 25 August
Two bands: Storm and Zajel (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

Friday 26 August
Rima Khcheich (Lebanon)
Open Air Theatre

Star of Orient: a theatre play for children (Sweden)
Small theatre, 7:30pm

Saturday 27 August
Sound of Egypt orchestra conducted by Ahmed Atef (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

Star of Orient: a theatre play for children (Sweden)
Small theatre, 7:30pm

Sound of Egypt
Sound of Egypt Orchestra (Photo: Zafar Azimov, courtesy of Ahmed Atef)


Sunday 28 August
Music from Here concert with bands Telepoetic and Disorder (Egypt) in cooperation with Goethe Institute in Alexandria
Open Air Theatre

“Five short films in four days” – screening series of films by Egyptian filmmakers
Day 1: Screening of Aida by Maysoun El-Masry
Film duration: 20 mins
Screening will be followed by discussion with the director
Auditorium hall, 8pm

Monday 29 August
Andromida band (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

“Five short films in four days” – screening series of films by Egyptian filmmakers
Day 2: Screening of Sunflower Lane by Mayye Zayed
Film duration: 14 mins
Screening will be followed by discussion with the director
Auditorium hall, 8pm

Tuesday 30 August
Hanan Madi performs with the Sound of Egypt orchestra conducted by Ahmed Atef (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

“Five short films in four days” – screening series of films by Egyptian filmmakers
Day 3: Screening of Tree (10 mins) and ‘Tashkeel’ (12 mins) by Mohamed Mostafa
Screenings will be followed by discussion with the director
Auditorium hall, 8pm

Wednesday 31 August
Bands High Dam and Mina
Open Air Theatre

“Five short films in four days” – screening series of films by Egyptian filmmakers
Day 4: Screening of Har Gaf Sayfan by Sherif El Bendary
Film duration: 30 mins
Screening will be followed by discussion with the director
Auditorium hall, 8pm

Thursday 1 September
Cairo Celebration Choir conducted by Nayer Nagui (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre, 9pm

Friday 2 September
Family day across many spaces of the Bibliotheca Alexandrina with activities targeting the youngest audience members and whole families

Saturday 3 September
Tania Saleh (Lebanon)
Open Air Theatre

Rima Khcheich
Lebanese musician Rima Khcheich (Photo: part of promotional material for Cairo Jazz Festival)


Sunday 4 September
Palestinian folklore band
Open Air Theatre

Until Proven the Opposite: A play (Egypt)
directed by Mohamed Osama Ata
Small Theatre, 8pm

Monday 5 September
Traditional music from India
Open Air Theatre

Until proven the opposite: A play (Egypt)
directed by Mohamed Osama Ata
Small Theatre, 8pm

Tuesday 6 September
Shawarena band (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

Crazy Accident: A play (Egypt)
written by Lenin El-Ramli and directed by Yasmine Saeed
Small Theatre, 8pm

Wednesday 7 September
Mohamed Mohsen (Egypt)
Open Air Theatre

Thursday 8 September
Soad Massi (Algeria)
Open Air Theatre

Souad Massi
Souad Massi (Photo:Photos: Ati Metwaly)

For more arts and culture news and updates, follow Ahram Online Arts and Culture on Twitter at @AhramOnlineArts and on Facebook at Ahram Online: Arts & Culture

Short link:

 

Email
 
Name
 
Comment's
Title
 
Comment
Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.
Latest

© 2010 Ahram Online.