Last Update 15:0
Tuesday, 23 July 2019

Art Alert: Beethoven's Choral Symphony to be performed in Alexandria

The 9th Symphony of Ludwig van Beethoven will be performed by the BA Chamber Orchestra, BA Youth Orchestra, BA Symphonic Choir and soloists, conducted by Hisham Gabr

Ahram Online , Sunday 20 Nov 2016
Bibliotheca Alexandrina Orchestra and Choir during performance of Carl Orff's Carmina Burana in February 2016 [L], Ludwig van Beethoven [R]
Views: 3529
Views: 3529

On Saturday, 26 November, one of the greatest classical music works, Ludwig van Beethoven’s Symphony No 9 (The Choral Symphony) will be performed by the artistic forces of the Bibliotheca Alexandrina.

Conducted by Hisham Gabr, the performance of the symphony will combine the BA Chamber Orchestra, BA Youth Orchestra, BA Symphonic Choir and soloists soprano Mona Rafla (Egypt), alto Rodica Ocheseanu (Romania), tenor Khalil Saeed (Tunisia) and baritone Haithem Hadhiri (Tunisia).

The Symphony No 9 is Beethoven's last completed symphony and one of the best-known works of classical music, included in the Memory of the World International Register compiled by UNESCO as the greatest testimonies of human history.

The great pinnacle of Beethoven’s greatness, the work is admired by musicians and music lovers alike, mainly due to the final cantata that comes in its last, fourth movement, Ode to Joy sung to the poem by Friedrich von Schiller.

The symphony premiered 7 May 1824 in Vienna. Because of his deafness, Beethoven stood behind the conductor, with his back to the audience and at first did not see the standing ovation and the audience who, according to witnesses at the time, asked the composer to the stage five times.

The evening will also include Borodin's Polovtsian Dances from the composer's opera Prince Igor.

Saturday, 26 November, 7pm
Bibliotheca Alexandrina, Great Hall, Alexandria

For more arts and culture news and updates, follow Ahram Online Arts and Culture on Twitter at @AhramOnlineArts and on Facebook at Ahram Online: Arts & Culture 

Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.