Last Update 22:46
Wednesday, 05 August 2020

String quartet at the Cairo Opera House

Next week, Cairo Opera House's string quartet will perform works by Haydn

Ahram Online, Wednesday 23 May 2012
String Quartet
Views: 766
Views: 766

The programme of the evening will include two of Joseph Haydn's string quartets: Op. 76 No. 3 "Kaiser Quartet", and Op. 77 No. 1.

Haydyn's six string quartets, Op. 76, were composed in 1796 or 1797 and were dedicated to Hungarian Count Joseph Erdody.

Two string quartets representing Op. 77 are also known as the Lobkowicz Quartets and were composed by Haydn in 1799, under the patronage of Bohemian noble Joseph Franz Maximilian Lobkowicz.

The Cairo Opera House string quartet consists of Osman El-Mahdy and Yasser Ghoneim on violins, Oleg Oneshchak on viola and Mohamed Salah on cello.


Wednesday 30 May at 8pm

Cairo Opera House Small Hall, Zamalek

Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.