Last Update 19:18
Saturday, 28 November 2020

Yaya Toure wins African Player of the Year award for the 4th time in a row

The Ivorian midfielder becomes the first player to win the title four years in a row

Ahram Online , Friday 9 Jan 2015
Yaya Toure
Yaya Toure, of the Ivory Coast and Manchester City, makes a speech after receiving the African Player of the Year award, for a record fourth straight time, during the Confederation of African Football (CAF) award ceremony in Lagos, January 8, 2015 (Photo: Reuters)
Views: 2627
Views: 2627

Manchester City star Yaya Toure has become the first player to be named African Footballer of the Year for the fourth successive time during a ceremony in Lagos, Nigeria on Thursday.

The Ivory Coast midfielder beat off competition from Gabon striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Nigeria keeper Vincent Enyeama to the annual accolade - voted by coaches and captains of the continent's national teams.

Cameroon talismanic forward Samuel Eto'o, who hung up his international boots last year, did also win the accolade four times, but not successively.

The former Barcelona ace earned a hat-trick of awards between 2003 and 2005 before securing the award once again in 2010.

Meanwhile, Ghana legend Abedi Pele was named African Footballer of the Year three times from 1991 to 1993 when it was still organized by French magazine France Football until 1994. Starting from 1992 CAF launched their new award.

Toure earned the award for his stunning displays for reigning English Premier League champions City, where he netted 20 league goals last season.

The 31-year-old was also vital in City's 2-1 League Cup final win over Sunderland in March, scoring a wonder goal to spark the Citizens' comeback victory. 

Despite boasting a generation brimming with talents, Ivory Coast have failed to secure the Africa Cup of Nations during the past decade, as hopes are pinned on Toure to lead The Elephants to glory in Equatorial Guinea.

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)



Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.