Last Update 21:29
Sunday, 15 December 2019

Zamalek shortlisted for CAF club of year award, Ramadan Sobhi for best talent

Ahram Online , Sunday 11 Dec 2016
Ramadan Sobhi
Ramadan Sobhi celebrates with Stoke City (Reuters)
Views: 2673
Views: 2673

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) have announced the final nominees competing for the other categories of the 2016 Glo-CAF Awards.

Egyptian club Zamalek has been shortlisted for the Club of the Year Award, Egypt’s young star Ramadan Sobhi of Stoke City has been included among the final nominees for the Most Promising Talent of the Year, while Egyptian Gehad Greishea is also one of the favourites for the Referee of the Year award.

"The winners will be decided by votes from the CAF Technical & Development, Media Committees and a panel of 20 experts (Journalists, TV consultants) except for the Fair Play, Legend and Platinum awards, which are not subject to vote. For this year, there will be no votes for the Youth National Team of the Year," the confederation stated on Sunday.

"Meanwhile, the Referee of the Year will be voted only by the CAF Referees Committee."

The CAF also announced nominees for the Women’s Player of the Year, National Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Women’s National Team of the Year, Youth Player of the Year, Football Leader of the Year, Fair Play Award, African Legend, Platinum Award and Africa Finest XI.

Last month, Egypt and AS Roma winger Mohamed Salah was named in the final shortlist for the African Player of the Year award, alongside with Gabon's Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borrusia Dortmund), Algeria's Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City), Senegal's Sadio Mane (Liverpool) and Algeria's Islam Slimani (Leicester City).

"The winners will be announced at the Glo-CAF Awards Gala scheduled for Thursday, January 5, 2017 in Abuja, Nigeria," CAF concluded.

The full shortlists have been announced as follows:

Women’s Player of the Year
Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)
Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Kvarnsvedensik)
Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon & Rossiyanka)
Janine van Wyk (South Africa & JVW)
Raissa Feudjio Tchuanyo (Cameroon & Aland United)

Most promising Talent
Elia Meschak (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
Kelechi Iheancho (Nigeria & Manchester City)
Naby Keita (Guinea & RB Leipzig)
Oghenekaro Etebo (Nigeria & CD Feirense)
Ramadan Sobhi (Egypt & Stoke City)

Youth Player of the Year
Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal)
Eric Ayiah (Ghana U-17)
Franck Kessie (Cote d’Ivoire & Atalanta)
Sandra Owush-Ansah (Ghana & Supreme Ladies)
Sidiki Maiga (Mali U-20)

Coach of the Year
Florent Ibenge (DR Congo)
Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic (Uganda)
Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Nacer Sandjak (MO Bejaia)
Florence Omagbemi (Nigeria women’s national team)

Referee of the Year                
Papa Gasama (Gambia)
Grishea Gehead (Egypt)
Malang Diedhiou (Senegal)

Club of the Year
Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
MO Bejaia (Algeria)
TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
Zamalek (Egypt)
Zesco United (Zambia)

National Team of the Year
DR Congo
Guinea Bissau
Nigeria U-23

Women’s National Team of the Year
South Africa

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports)


Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.