Last Update 23:58
Thursday, 25 February 2021

Egyptian Premier League best XI: 5th matchday

Ahram Online gives you its selection of the best players from the fifth matchday of the Egyptian Premier League

Ahram Online, Friday 4 Nov 2011
Best XI
Shikabala (L), Ramzi Saleh (C) and Emad Meteb (R)
Views: 1647
Views: 1647

Goalkeeper: Palestinian Ramzi Saleh (Smouha) pulled off a string of impressive save to deny Zamalek on many occasions, although his side eventually lost 1-0.

Right back: Ahmed Fathi (Ahly) produced a lively display down the right flank. He created the second goal following a darting run as Ahly beat Dakhleya 3-1.

Left back: Mohamed Abdel-Shafy (Zamalek) whipped in some fine crosses as Zamalek claimed a last-gasp 1-0 victory over Smouha. He was once again the most prominent left back in the Egyptian league.

Centre back: Ahmed Hegazy (Ismaily) was instrumental in keeping ENPPI strikers at bay during the 2-1 win over the petroleum side.

Centre back: A promising 20-year-old defender, Mahmoud Alaa (Haras El-Hodoud) put in a solid display at the back. His goal-line clearance was vital in helping El-Hodoud beat Talae El-Gaish 1-0.

Midfielder: Shikabala (Zamalek) scored a remarkable free kick in stoppage time to give Zamalek a precious 1-0 victory over Smouha in Alexandria.

Midfielder: Hosni Abd-Rabou (Ismaily) maintained his impressive displays this season, scoring a superb goal to give his side a late victory over ENPPI. He is the league’s top scorer with seven goals in five games.

Midfielder: Mohamed Koffi (Petrojet), who is enjoying a fine run of form, scored twice to help Petrojet share honours with Ghazl El-Mahalla in a 2-2 draw.

Midfielder: Moroccan Omar Najdi (Maqassa) set up Oussou Konan for one of the five goals Maqassa scored in their win over Ittihad and produced a lively display throughout the match.

Striker: Ivorian Oussou Konan (Maqassa) notched a hat-trick against Ittihad to take his tally to six goals in five league games.

Striker: Emad Meteb (Ahly) won a penalty which Wael Gomaa converted before adding the second himself as Ahly claimed a 3-1 victory over promoted Dakhleya.

Substitutes: Ahmed El-Shennawy (Masry), Saleh Gomaa (ENPPI), Abdallah El-Saied (Ahly), Amer Sabry, Beshir El-Tabie (Talae El-Gaish),  Lama Kone (Dakhleya), Ashour El-Taqui (Wadi Degla)

Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.