Last Update 11:31
Saturday, 16 January 2021

Zamalek's history in African Cups: A look at 9 finals

Egyptian giants Zamalek face RS Berkane of Morocco in the Confederation Cup final for their 9th continental final. They have an impressive record of winning six out their previous eight finals. Take a look at their history

Karim Farouk , Saturday 18 May 2019
Zamalek former Captain Hazem Emam lifts the 2002 African Champions League trophy.
Views: 4137
Views: 4137

African Champions Cup 1984 (Winners)

Zamalek defeated Shooting stars of Nigeria 2-0 at home, with iconic forward Gamal Abdel-Hamid scoring both goals, before grabbing another 1-0 victory in Nigeria courtesy of an own goal from Obeng.

African Champions Cup 1986 (Winners)

The Whites earned a 2-0 home advantage against Ivorian giants Africa Sport, thanks to a brace from Ayman Younes. They threw away their lead in Ivory Coast but prevailed 4-2 on penalties.

African Champions Cup 1993 (Winners)

After being deadlocked over two games, Zamalek beat Ghanaian heavyweights Asante Kotoko 7-6 on penalties following a 0-0 aggregate draw.

African Champions Cup 1994 (Runners-up)

The defending champions reached the final but were held to a scoreless home draw by a resilient Esperance of Tunisia team before succumbing to a 3-1 loss in the return leg.

African Champions Cup 1996 (Winners)

Playing against old rivals Shooting Stars of Nigeria, Zamalek were able to overturn their 2-1 first leg defeat after caliming a 2-1 win at a packed Cairo Stadium. Medhat Abdel-Hadi and Ayman Mansour scored for the hosts, allowing them to go to penalties and claim their fourth title after a 5-4 shootout win.

African Cup Winners Cup 2000 (Winners)

Reaching their first and only final in the now defunct African Cup Winners Cup, Zamalek beat Canon Yaounde 4-1 at home thanks to goals from Hossam Abdel-Moneim, Tarek El-Said, Abdel-Hamid Bassiouni and Abdel-Latif El-Domani.

They overcame a nervy game in Yaounde as they lost 2-0 but were still able to clinch the title.

African Champions League 2002 (Winners)

After the revamp of the competition in 1997, Zamalek grabbed their first title under the new format after holding Raja of Morocco Casablanca to a scoreless draw in Casablanca before claiming a 1-0 victory in Cairo courtesy of a thunderbolt from defensive midfielder Tamer Abdel-Hamid.

African Champions League 2016 (Runners-up)

Reaching their first continental final in more than a decade, Zamalek fell against Mamelodi Sundowns 3-0 in the first leg. They were able to claim a narrow 1-0 victory in the return leg via a goal from Nigerian striker Stanley Ohawuchi but that wasn't enough for them to lift the prestigious trophy.

African Confederation Cup 2019

Featuring in their ninth continental title, Zamalek will play RS Berkane of Morocco on 19 May in Berkane and the return leg will be played at Alexandria's Borg El-Arab Stadium on 26 May.

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Search Keywords:
Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.