Last Update 16:26
Thursday, 03 December 2020

Essien, Muntari, Boateng lead Ghana's squad for Egypt World Cup playoff

Coach recalls Richard Kingson, Sulley Muntari, Jordan Ayew and Jerry Akaminko for the crucial tie on 15 October

Karim Farouk, Tuesday 1 Oct 2013
(Photo: Reuters)
Views: 4381
Views: 4381

Ghana coach Kwesi Appiah has unveiled a 25-man star-studded squad for the World Cup qualifier playoff against Egypt on 15 October in Kumasi.

Appiah recalled veteran keeper Richard Kingson for the first time in two years. 

AC Milan midfielder Sulley Muntari returns to the Black Stars after making a formal apology to the staff following a dispute earlier this year. 

Defender Jerry Akaminko also earned a call up following the recent injury of Jonathan Mensah. Jordan Ayew gets another chance to play on the international stage. 

These new additions strengthen a team that includes Kevin-Prince Boateng, Michael Essien, Asamoah Gyan, Kwadwo Asamoah and Andre Ayew. 

The Black Stars will play the Pharaohs in a two-legged tie for a ticket to Brazil 2014. The first leg is set to be played in Kumasi on 15 October and the return leg in Cairo on 19 November.

Full squad

Goalkeepers: Fatau Dauda (Orlando Pirates, South Africa), Adam Kwarasey (Stromgodset, Norway), Richard Kingson (Doxa Katokopias, Cyprus)

Defenders: Samuel Inkoom (Dnipro, Ukraine), Daniel Opare (Standard Liege, Belgium), David Addy (Vitoria Guimaraes, Portugal), Baba Abdul Rahman (Greuther Furth Germany), John Boye (Rennes, France), Jerry Akaminko (Eskisehirspor, Turkey), Rashid Sumaila (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Mohammed Awal (Maritzburg United, South Africa)

Midfielders: Michael Essien (Chelsea, England), Emmanuel Frimpong (Arsenal, England) Sulley Muntari (AC Milan, Italy), Kwadwo Asamoah (Juventus, Italy), Emmanuel Agyemang Badu (Udinese, Italy), Kevin Prince Boateng (Schalke, Germany), Albert Adomah (Middlesbrough, England), Mubarak Wakaso (Rubin Kazan, Russia), Christian Atsu (Vitesse Arnhem, Holland), Andre Ayew (Marseille, France)

Strikers: Asamoah Gyan (Al Ain, UAE), Abdul Majeed Waris (Spartak Moscow, Russia), Jordan Ayew (Marseille, France), Mahatma Otoo (Sogndal, Norway)

Search Keywords:
Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.