Last Update 11:46
Thursday, 28 January 2021

Hassan and Gedo out of CAF award

Egyptian duo Ahmed Hassan and Mohamed Nagy ‘Gedo’ are out of CAF’s five-man shortlist for the Player of the Year award

Ahmed Abd El Rasoul , Saturday 4 Dec 2010
Gedo with Egypt coach Hassan Shehata
Views: 1201
Views: 1201

Ahly forward Gedo and his club teammate Hassan were included in CAF’s initial 10-man shortlist but could not keep up pace with the likes of Ivory Coast’s Didier Drogba and Samuel Eto’o of Cameroon.

“The final nominees will vie for honours in the respective categories following their nomination by the Media, Technical and Football Committees of CAF taking into consideration the performance during the year under review, from January 2010 to November 2010,” the African governing body said in a statement on its official website today.

“For the topmost awards, Player of the Year 2010 and African-based Player of the Year 2010, the respective winners are decided by votes from the respective senior national teams’ Head Coaches or Technical Director of the 53 National Associations affiliated to CAF,” the statement said.

Egyptian players have never won the CAF Player of the Year award, which was introduced in 1993.

Ahly great Mahmoud Al-Khatib won the France Football award, the old version of CAF’s, in 1983.

While hopes for a best player award have been dashed, there is still room for an Egyptian award this year -- the Pharaohs’ coach Hassan Shehata is included in a three-man shortlist for the best coach prize.

The 2010 Nations Cup winners are also vying with World Cup participants Algeria and Ghana for the best national team award.

The CAF shortlist (in alphabetical order):

1. Player of the Year

a) Didier Drogba (Chelsea, Ivory Coast)
b) Samuel Eto’o Fils (Inter Milan, Cameroon)
c) Asamoah Gyan (Sunderland, Ghana)
d) Salomon Kalou (Chelsea, Ivory Coast)
e) Seydou Keita (Barcelona, Mali)

The shortlist will be reduced to three players on December 11 .

2. African-based Player of the Year

a) Alain Dioko (TP Mazembe, DR Congo)
b) Mohamed Nagy "Gedo" (Ahly, Egypt)
c) Ahmed Hassan (Ahly, Egypt)

3. Most Promising Talent of the Year

a) Kwadwo Asamoah (Udinese and Ghana)
b) Ryad Boudebouz (Sochaux and Algeria)
c) Moussa Maazou (Bordeaux and Niger)

4. Women’s Footballer of the Year

a) Stella Mbachu (Nigeria)
b) Perpetua Nkwocha (Sunnana SK and Nigeria)
c) Ebere Orji (Nigeria U-20)

5. Club of the Year

a) CS Sfaxien (Tunisia)
b) FUS Rabat (Morocco)
c) TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

6. National Team of the Year

a) Algeria
b) Egypt
c) Ghana

7. Women’s National team of the Year

a) Equatorial Guinea
b) Nigeria senior team
c) Nigeria U-20 women

8. Coach of the Year

a) Lamine N'Diaye (TP Mazembe)
b) MilovanRajevac – (Former Ghana Coach)
c) Hassan Shehata (Egypt)

Search Keywords:
Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.