Last Update 21:53
Saturday, 04 April 2020

Ahram Sport honours 2015’s best Egyptian athletes

A ceremony was held in Cairo to honour some of Egypt’s most successful and popular athletes in 2015

Ahram Online , Tuesday 1 Mar 2016
Hossam Ghaly
Hossam Ghaly (L) won the best player award (Photo: Ahmed Hassan/Ahram Sport)
Views: 1940
Views: 1940

Ahram Sport, the Arabic sports website of the publicly-owned publisher Al-Ahram, has announced the winners of its poll for the best Egyptian Athletes of 2015 in a ceremony held in Cairo.

The event was attended by many sports figures including the sport minister Khaled Abdel-Aziz and representatives from various federations including FIFA executive committee member Hani Abou-Reida. 

A large number of sports fans have participated in the voting process for a month and a half through Ahram Sports website.

Ahly skipper Hossam Ghaly was named best Egyptian football of the year after tough competition with Zamalek's Bassem Morsi.

Farido Osman, the swimming star who will be competing for a medal in the 2016 Rio Olympic, was named best female athlete, while Javelin thrower Ehab Abdel-Rahman was named best male athlete.

The readers picks for 2015 titles was as follows:


Best player: Hossam Ghaly (Ahly)

Best coach: Hossam Hassan (Masry)

Best striker: Bassem Morsi (Zamalek)

Best defender: Omar Gaber (Zamalek)

Best youngster: Ramdan Sobhi (Ahly)

Best foreigner: Nigeria's Stanley Nka Ohawuchi  (Wadi Degla)

Best Goalkeeper: Ahmed El-Shennawy

Best Midfielder: Hossam Ghaly

Best club: Zamalek

Best referee: Gehad Greisha

Best commentator: Mahmoud Bakr

Best sports programme presenter: Ahmed Shobeir

Best Football school in Egypt: Atletico Madrid

Best Egyptian foreign-based: Mohamed Salah (Roma striker)

Other Sports:                                   

Best man athlete: Ehab Abdel-Rahman (Javelin)

Best Woman athlete: Farida Osman (Swimming)

Best Federation: Squash

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)


Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.