Last Update 20:23
Friday, 30 October 2020

Official: The Egyptian league to feature 19 clubs

The Egyptian Football Association (EFA) confirms that the league competition will be played with 19 clubs, deplores behavior of Ahly supporters during cup game

Mohamad Mosselhi, Thursday 8 Sep 2011
Samir Zaher
Views: 1115
Views: 1115

The EFA confirmed that the Egyptian Premier League will feature 19 clubs next season and condemned the behavior of Ahly fans during and after Tuesday’s Cup game against Kima Aswan.

The EFA initially said the league would be expanded to 20 teams after it decided to cancel relegation but Tersana, Mansoura and Aswan, who all finished runners up in their respective groups in the second division, refused to replay a mini three-team league which was supposed to determine who would complete the top-flight teams.

“Nineteen teams will participate in the 2011-12 league competition,” the EFA said in a statement on its official website on Wednesday.

The EFA also condemned the behavior of Ahly supporters during an Egyptian Cup game against second-division side Kima Aswan which witnessed a scuffle involving hard-core supporters (Ultras Ahlawy) and police forces.

The violent clashes left at least 135 injured as the police reportedly confronted Ultras Ahlawy after the ardent supporters hurled insults at them towards the end of Ahly’s 4-0 victory, which lifted the team to the Egyptian Cup round of 16.

“We condemn the acts of some irresponsible fans towards policemen. The EFA board of directors is calling on Egyptian fans to cooperate with police to ensure an entertaining league competition next season,” it added.

Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.