Last Update 11:50
Friday, 14 December 2018

Egypt's locally-based football team to participate in CHAN 2018 after Morocco named as hosts

Mahmoud Elassal , Sunday 15 Oct 2017
 CHAN 2018
CAF withdraws tournament from Kenya
Views: 2226
Views: 2226

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) decided on Sunday to qualify Egypt for the 2018 African Nations Championship (CHAN 2018) finals after Morocco was named as host country.

Egypt had originally failed to qualify for the tournament after losing to Morocco in the playoffs. However, with Morocco taking the role of tournament host, an extra place has become available in the North Zone, and Egypt has been assigned to that place.

"Following the designation of Morocco as host of Total CHAN 2018, the CAF Emergency Committee, meeting in Lagos, decided to qualify Egypt for the final tournament," CAF said in a statement on its website.

"It will be Egypt's very first participation in this competition, running since 2009, which will be in its fifth edition, bringing together only players playing in the championships of their countries," the statement added.

The tournament is scheduled to be played from 12 January to 4 February 2018.

CHAN was first announced by CAF on 11 September 2007, pitting the best national teams of Africa against each other.

Only those players who are active in the domestic championships and qualified to play in the ongoing season are permitted to take part.

The tournament is held every two years, alternating with the Africa Cup of Nations.

The first tournament was held in Ivory Coast in 2009, with the Democratic Republic of Congo taking the title. The competition was expanded to 16 teams for the second tournament, which took place in Sudan in 2011, with Tunisia taking home the trophy.

Libya won the 2014 edition, held in South Africa, while DR Congo won again in 2016, this time in Rwanda.

CAF has released the list of 16 countries qualified for Total CHAN 2018, as follows:

North Zone: Egypt, Libya, Morocco

Eastern Central Zone: Ethiopia, Uganda

Central Zone: Cameroon, Congo, Equatorial Guinea

West Zone A: Guinea, Mauritania

West Zone B: Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Nigeria

Southern Zone: Angola, Namibia, Zambia

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.