Last Update 20:48
Thursday, 18 October 2018

Pharaohs, coach Cuper and Ahly shortlisted for best in Africa 2017 CAF awards

See the full list of candidates shortlisted by CAF for award as best in their category this year inside.

Ahram Online , Monday 27 Nov 2017
Egypt Argentinean coach Hector Cuper (AFP)
Egypt Argentinean coach Hector Cuper (AFP)
Views: 3508
Views: 3508

The Confederation of African football announced on Monday its shortlist for 2017 awards in the different Categories.

The Egyptian national football team and their coach Hector Cuper, Cairo giants Ahly and classy referee Gehad Greisha featured in the list of the candidates for this year's top awards in their categories.

The Pharaohs were tipped for the National Team of the Year award following a successful year as they reached the final of the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations after seven years of absence in February, and qualified for the World Cup for the first time in 28 years in October.

Egypt's coach Hector Cuper was shortlisted for the award of the Coach of the Year for his accomplishments with the Pharaohs.

Egypt's reigning champions Ahly featured among the candidates for the Club of the Year award.

The Red Devils won their 39 th league title and their first Egypt Cup in ten years last summer.

In the fall, they produced a strong performance in the Champions League but lost the title to Moroccan side Wydad de Casablanca in the final.

Egyptian international referee Gehad Gerisha features in a six men shortlist for the Referee of the Year.

Gerisha has been selected by FIFA to officiate in the World tournament in Moscow in 2018.

Meanwhile, Mohamed Salah, Egypt's star international winger, who is shining with Liverpool's in the Premier League, was named earlier this month in the preliminary list for the African Player of the Year.

Ahly's international fullback Ahmed Fathi and Zamalek's international midfielder Tarek Hamed are among the candidates for the Player of the Year - based in Africa.

The Awards Gala will take place on Thursday, 4 January in Accra, Ghana. 

The Candidates

Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)

Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies)

Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon & Rossyanka)

Rutendo Makore (Zimbabwe & Black Rhinos)

Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Kvarnsvedens)


Women’s National Team of the Year

Ghana U-20


Nigeria U-20

South Africa



Coach of the Year

Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)

Hector Cuper (Egypt)

Hugo Broos (Cameroon)

L'Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club)

Mihayo Kazembe (TP Mazembe)


National Team of the Year



Mali U-17


Zambia U-20


Club of the Year


Mbabane Swallows

SuperSport United

TP Mazembe

Wydad Athletic Club


Youth Player of the Year

Eric Ayiah (Ghana & Charity Stars)

Krepin Diatta (Senegal &Sarpsborg)

Luther Singh (South Africa & Braga)

Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)

Salam Giddou (Mali & Guidars)


Referee of the Year

Bamlak Tessema (Ethiopia)

Ghead Grisha (Egypt)

Janny Sikazwe (Zambia)

Malang Diedhiou (Senegal)

Mehdi Abid Charef (Algeria)

Papa Bakary Gassama (Gambia)

Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.