Last Update 2:35
Sunday, 16 June 2019

Egypt star Salah among 30 players nominated for 2018 Ballon d'Or

Ahmed Abd El Rasoul, Monday 8 Oct 2018
File Photo: Mohamed Salah holds the trophy after being named the PFA Player of the Year on Sunday (Liverpool's official Facebook page)
Views: 2898
Views: 2898

Egypt and Liverpool star Mohamed Salah has been included in the 30-man list nominated for the 2018 Ballon d'Or trophy by France Football on Monday.

The 26-year old Salah made a dazzling debut with the Premier league side last season; scoring 44 goals in all competitions as Liverpool reached the Champions League final and finished fourth in the Premier League.

He finished as the elite Premier League's top scorer with 32 goals - a record tally in a 38-game top flight campaign.

On 24 September, the former Chelsea and Roma player Salah won the Puskas award for his amazing goal against Everton in the Premier League last season. He also finished 3rd in FIFA’s World player of the 2018 award after a hot race alongside Cristiano Ronaldo and winner Luka Modric.

Salah's extraordinary season also saw him win the Premier League's best player award by both the Professional Footballers' Association and the Football Writers' Association, along with the Premier League's Golden Boot award.

The Ballon d'Or award merged with the FIFA World Player of the Year prize from 2010-15 to create the FIFA Ballon d'Or, but returned to France Football magazine in 2016 while FIFA established The Best awards.

Portugal and Juventus star Cristiano Ronaldo, who won the award for the past two years and five times in total, is also competing for this year’s title alongside big names like Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), and Gareth Bale and Karim Benzema of Real Madrid.

The winner will be announced on 3 December.

The 30-man list:

Sergio Aguero (ARG / Manchester City)
Alisson (BRA / Liverpool)
Gareth Bale (WAL / Real Madrid)
Karim Benzema (FRA / Real Madrid)
Edinson Cavani (URU / PSG)
Thibaut Courtois (BEL / Chelsea)
Cristiano Ronaldo (POR / Juventus Turin)
Kevin De Bruyne (BEL / Manchester City)
Roberto Firmino (BRA / Liverpool)
Diego Godin (URU / Atletico Madrid)
Antoine Griezmann (FRA / Atletico Madrid)
Eden Hazard (BEL / Chelsea)
Isco (ESP / Real Madrid)
Harry Kane (ENG / Tottenham)
N’Golo Kante (FRA / Chelsea)
Hugo Lloris (FRA / Tottenham)
Mario Mandzukic (CRO / Juventus Turin)
Sadio Mané (SEN / Liverpool)
Marcelo (BRE / Real Madrid)
Kylian Mbappé (FRA / PSG)
Lionel Messi (ARG / FC Barcelona)
Luka Modric (CRO / Real Madrid)
Neymar (BRA / PSG)
Jan Oblak (SLO / Atlético Madrid)
Paul Pogba (FRA / Manchester United)
Ivan Rakitic (CRO / Barcelona)
Sergio Ramos (SPA / Real Madrid)
Mohamed Salah (EGY / Liverpool)
Luis Suarez (URU / Fc Barcelona)
Raphael Varane (FRA / Real Madrid)

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.