Last Update 21:11
Thursday, 19 September 2019

Egypt's Salah out of UEFA Player of the Year award race as Messi, Ronaldo, Van Dijk march on

Messi, Ronaldo and Van Dijk have all registered exceptional seasons

Mahmoud Elassal , Thursday 15 Aug 2019
Liverpool's Mohamed Salah (Reuters)
Views: 1659
Views: 1659

Egypt and Liverpool star Mohamed Salah has been excluded from the race for the 2018/2019 UEFA Player of the Year as Barcelona's Lionel Messi, Juventus's Cristiano Ronaldo and Liverpool's Virgil van Dijk made it to the final three-man shortlist.

"The winner will be named – along with the UEFA Women's Player of the Year and UEFA Champions League positional award winners – during the group stage draw in Monaco on Thursday, 29 August," a statement by UEFA read Thursday.

"The UEFA Europa League Player of the Season will be announced the following day," the statement added.

Egyptian winger Mohamed Salah, who achieved two trophies with Liverpool including the UEFA Champions League and the Super Cup, placed in sixth position with 49 points behind Liverpool teammates Alisson Becker and Sadio Mane.

Messi registered another exceptional season, winning La Liga and Spanish Super Cup titles and was UEFA Champions League top goalscorer and the European Golden Shoe winner.

Ronaldo was UEFA Nations League winner with Portugal and Serie A and Italian Super Cup titles with Juventus.

Van Dijk, who is marshaling the Reds defence, has already won the PFA Player of the Year in addition to a Champions League title.

Top 10:

1- Lionel Messi (Barcelona & Argentina)
2-Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus & Portugal)
3-Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool & Netherlands)

Rest of top 10
4 Alisson Becker (Liverpool & Brazil) – 57 points
5 Sadio Mané (Liverpool & Senegal) – 51 points
6 Mohamed Salah (Liverpool & Egypt) – 49 points
7 Eden Hazard (Chelsea/Real Madrid & Belgium) – 38 points
8= Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax/Juventus & Netherlands) – 27 points
8= Frenkie de Jong (Ajax/Barcelona & Netherlands) – 27 points
10 Raheem Sterling (Manchester City & England) – 12 points

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.