Last Update 22:10
Friday, 06 December 2019

RELIVE: CAN 2017 qualifiers (Africa Cup of Nations) draw

Ahram online provided live updates from the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers draw

Ahram Online , Wednesday 8 Apr 2015
Views: 6154
Views: 6154

Thank you for following our live coverage of the 2017 African Cup of Nations qualifiers 

Group A: Tunisia, Togo, Liberia, Djibouti

Group B: DRC, Angola, CAR, Madagascar

Group C: Mali, Eq. Guinea, Benin, South Sudan

Group D: Burkina Faso, Uganda, Botswana, Comoros

Group E: Guinea Bissau, Kenya, Congo Brazzaville

Group F: Sao Tome, Libya, Morocco   

Group G: Nigeria, Egypt, Tanzania, Chad

Group H: Ghana, Mozambique, Rwanda, Mauritius

Group I: Cote d'Ivoire, Sudan, Sierra Leone, Gabon

Group J: Algeria, Ethiopia, Lesotho, Seychelles

Group K: Senegal, Niger, Nambia, Burundi

Group L: Guinea, Malawi, Zimbabwe, Swaziland

Group M: Cameroon, South Africa, Gambia, Mauritania

15:10 The draw of the 2017 Nations Cup qualifiers will begin shortly. 

15:10 Gabon co-hosted the 2012 African Cup of Nations along with Equatorial Guinea. 

15:00 Gabon has been chosen by African governing body CAF to host the 2017 African Cup of Nations. 

The procedures to start at 15:00 Cairo time (GMT +2)


The Confederation of African Football (CAF) will choose Wednesday the hosts of the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON).

The CAF will vote one of Algeria, Gabon or Ghana for hosting the event that was supposed to be in Libya before the security situation there halted it.

All three countries, which have previously hosted the tournament, have sent ministerial delegations to deliver last-minute presentations to the committee before the vote.

The CAF executive committee will decide their replacement in their headquarters in Cairo.

They will also set the draw of the tournament's qualifiers that include both Morocco and Tunisia who avoided bans.


The Draw procedures:

The 52 teams will be divided into four pots each pot containing 13 teams according to the CAF Classification.

 In case of equality in points, the team with more points in the most recent competition will have priority.

As per the CAF Executive Committee decision, the CAN 2017 host country will take part in the Qualifiers without

their results affecting their concerned group final standings .Only the group winner from that particular group will qualify to the Final Tournament, the CAN 2017 host country will be in Pot X.

A drawing of lots will be made to determine in which group the host country will evolve.


levels of the teams:

The 13 teams of level 1 namely Ivory Coast , Ghana, Tunisia, Burkina Faso, Mali, Nigeria, Algeria, Zambia, Cape Verde, DR Congo , Guinea , Senegal and Cameroun will be in pot 1 .

If the CAN 2017 Host country is among the level 1 teams , the first team from Pot 2 will be moved to Pot 1, the first team from Pot 3 will be moved to Pot 2 and the first team from Pot 4 will be moved to Pot 3.

The 13 teams of Level 2 namely South Africa, Gabon, Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Angola, Ethiopia, Togo, Morocco, Niger, Egypt, Uganda, Malawi and Sudan will be in Pot 2 .

If the CAN 2017 Host country is among the level 2 teams , the first team from Pot 3 will be moved to Pot 2 and the first team from Pot 4 will be moved to Pot 3 .

The 13 teams of Level 3 namely Mozambique, Botswana, Libya, Sierra Leone, Lesotho, Kenya, Benin, Rwanda ,Tanzania, Central Africa, Zimbabwe, Liberia and Gambia will be in pot 3 .

The 13 teams of Level 4 namely Namibia, Guinea Bissau , Seychelles, Burundi, Mauritania, Chad, Madagascar, Sao Tome, Comoros, Swaziland, South Sudan , Mauritius and Djibouti will be in pot 4.


(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.