Last Update 10:50
Thursday, 28 January 2021

CAF award down to best three

The race to be African Footballer of the Year has narrowed to strikers Didier Drogba, Samuel Eto'o and Asamoah Gyan

AFP, Sunday 12 Dec 2010
African stars
Eto'o, Gyan and Drogba are hoping to win the African Award.
Views: 889
Views: 889


It came as no surprise when a statement from the Confederation of African Football (CAF), the continent's football governing body, said Chelsea striker Salomon Kalou and Barcelona midfielder Seydou Keita had fallen by the wayside in the running for CAF Footballer of the Year.

Chelsea striker and Ivory Coast captain Drogba was voted number one last year, but is the outsider this time with Samuel Eto'o and Asamoah Gyan boasting stronger claims to the top spot.

Eto'o helped Inter Milan win the Italian and Champions League titles and the Italian Cup, although Cameroon flopped under his captaincy at the African Nations Cup and World Cup tournaments.

Gyan, a close season signing by Sunderland from Rennes, did not have the same impact at club level, but his goals propelled Ghana to the Nations Cup final and World Cup quarterfinals.

The Black Star was also a World Cup villain as he struck the crossbar with a penalty in the dying seconds of extra time against Uruguay. Had he scored Ghana would have become the first World Cup semi-finalists from Africa.

The CAF Footballer of the Year, who is chosen by the national coaches of CAF member nations, and the winners of seven other awards will be announced 20 December in Cairo.

Short link:



© 2010 Ahram Online.