Last Update 16:53
Thursday, 17 January 2019

Factbox: African Footballer of the Year winners

Reuters , Thursday 4 Jan 2018
Views: 3382
Views: 3382

Full list of African Footballer of the Year award winners:

1970: Salif Keita (St Etienne, France and Mali)

1971: Ibrahim Sunday (Asante Kotoko and Ghana)

1972: Cherif Souleymane (Hafia and Guinea)

1973: Tshimen Bwanga (TP Mazembe Englebert and Zaire)

1974: Paul Moukila (CARA Brazzaville and Congo)

1975: Ahmed Faras (Mohammedia and Morocco)

1976: Roger Milla (Canon Yaounde and Cameroon)

1977: Tarak Dhiab (Esperance and Tunisia)

1978: Karim Abdoul Razak (Asante Kotoko and Ghana)

1979: Thomas Nkono (Canon Yaounde and Cameroon)

1980: Jean Manga Onguene (Canon Yaounde and Cameroon)

1981: Lakhdar Belloumi (GCR Mascara and Algeria)

1982: Thomas Nkono (Espanyol, Spain and Cameroon)

1983: Mahmoud Al Khatib (Al Ahli and Egypt)

1984: Theophile Abega (Toulouse, France and Cameroon)

1985: Mohamed Timoumi (Royal Armed Forces and Morocco)

1986: Badou Ezaki (Real Mallorca, Spain and Morocco)

1987: Rabah Madjer (FC Porto, Portugal and Algeria)

1988: Kalusha Bwalya (Cercle Bruges, Belgium and Zambia)

1989: George Weah (Monaco, France and Liberia)

1990: Roger Milla (St Denis, Reunion and Cameroon)

1991: Abedi Pele Ayew (Olympique Marseille, France and Ghana)

1992: Abedi Pele Ayew (Olympique Marseille, France and Ghana)

1993: Abedi Pele Ayew (Olympique Lyonnaise, France and Ghana)

1994: George Weah (Paris St Germain, France and Liberia) and Emmanuel Amunike (Sporting Lisbon, Portugal and Nigeria)

1995: George Weah (AC Milan, Italy and Liberia)

1996: Nwankwo Kanu (Inter Milan, Italy and Nigeria)

1997: Victor Ikpeba (Monaco, France and Nigeria)

1998: Mustapha Hadji (Deportivo Coruna, Spain and Morocco)

1999: Nwankwo Kanu (Arsenal, England and Nigeria)

2000: Patrick Mboma (Parma, Italy and Cameroon)

2001: El Hadji Diouf (Rennes, France and Senegal)

2002: El Hadji Diouf (Liverpool, England and Senegal)

2003: Samuel Eto’o (Real Mallorca, Spain and Cameroon)

2004: Samuel Eto’o (Barcelona, Spain and Cameroon)

2005: Samuel Eto’o (Barcelona, Spain and Cameroon)

2006: Didier Drogba (Chelsea, England and Ivory Coast)

2007: Frederic Kanoute (Sevilla, Spain and Mali)

2008: Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal, England and Togo)

2009: Didier Drogba (Chelsea, England and Ivory Coast)

2010: Samuel Eto’o (Inter Milan, Italy and Cameroon)

2011: Yaya Toure (Manchester City, England and Ivory Coast)

2012: Yaya Toure (Manchester City, England and Ivory Coast)

2013: Yaya Toure (Manchester City, England and Ivory Coast)

2014: Yaya Toure (Manchester City, England and Ivory Coast)

2015: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund, Germany and Gabon)

2016: Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City, England and Algeria)

2017: Mohamed Salah (Liverpool, England and Egypt)

Note: The award was organised by the French soccer magazine 'France Football' until 1994, after which the Confederation of African Football instituted a new award.

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.