Last Update 10:2
Friday, 18 January 2019

CAF awards 2017: Egypt claim lion's share, Wydad, Oshoala scoop awards

Check the list of the awards' winners

Ahram Online , Thursday 4 Jan 2018
Egypt's national players (Reuters)
Views: 3276
Views: 3276

African Player of the Year: Mohamed Salah of Egypt

Coach of the Year: Hector Cuper, head coach of Egypt

Club of the Year: Wydad Casablanca of Morocco.

National Team of the Year: Egypt

Women’s Player of the Year: Asisat Oshoala of Nigeria.

Women's National team of the Year: South Africa U20

Youth Player of the Year: Patson Daka of Zambia.

Legend award: Sunday Ibrahim of Nigeria, best player in Africa in 1971.

Platinum Award: Ghana President Nana Akufo-Addo, President-elect of Liberia George Weah.


Africa's best XI (fans vote):

Aymen Mathlouthi (Tunisia) - Ali Maalouli (Tunisia), Eric Bailly (Ivory Coast), Ahmed Fathi (Egypt) - Mohamed Ounajem (Morocco), Karim Al-Ahmadi (Morocco), Achraf Bencharki (Morocco) Khaled Boutalib (Morocco) - Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia), Mohamed Salah (Egypt), Junior Ajayi (Nigeria)

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)


Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.