Last Update 21:52
Monday, 26 August 2019

CAF reverts to previous format for 2022 African World Cup qualifiers

Karim Farouk , Wednesday 10 Jul 2019
Egypt v Congo
Egypt's Mohamed Salah vies for the ball against Congo's Tobias Badila during the World Cup 2018 Africa qualifying match between Egypt and Congo at the Borg el-Arab stadium in Alexandria, Egypt, on Sunday, October 8, 2017. (Photo: AFP)
Views: 2814
Views: 2814

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) announced on Wednesday the 2022 World Cup qualifiers format for Africa, which restores the format used in the 2014 World Cup qualifiers.

The new format will go through three phases as follows:

1- A preliminary round: The 26 highest ranked teams, according to the FIFA ranking, will be exempted of the preliminary round leaving 28 participating teams in that round. Of these 28 teams, the 14 highest ranked teams will play against the least ranked teams (1st leg will be played at home of the lowest ranked teams).

2- Group stage: The 14 winning teams of the preliminary round will join the 26 exempted teams in the Group Stage and will be divided into 10 groups of 4 teams. The draw of the groups will be based on the seeding of the 40 teams into 4 levels according to the FIFA ranking. Each group will contain a team of each level.

3- Knock-out stage: The winners of the 10 groups will be divided into 2 levels according to the FIFA ranking. The 5 highest ranked teams will play against the lowest ranked teams (1st leg will be played at home of the lowest ranked teams).

This format comes as a switch from the system used in the 2018 World Cup qualifiers in the African zone, which consisted of two preliminary knock-out stages and a subsequent group stage. Twenty teams were divided into five groups and the winners directly qualified for the football's most prestigious showpiece.

Egypt, Senegal, Morocco, Nigeria and Tunisia represented Africa at the 2018 World Cup in Russia.

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.