Last Update 0:37
Thursday, 23 May 2019

Egypt announces winners of state-sponsored culture awards for 2016

Director Ali Badrakhan, critic El-Taher Makki, cinematographer Tarek El-Telmissany, and aesthetics professor Shaker Abdel-Hamid are among the winners of Egypt's highest state awards in the arts and literature

Mohammed Saad , Monday 19 Jun 2017
File Photo: Minister of Culture Dr. Shaker Abdel-Hamid
Views: 4853
Views: 4853

Egypt has announced its highest state-sponsored awards in the fields of art, literature and social sciences for 2016, with medals and cash prizes distributed to the nation's top achievers.

The list of winners was announced on Sunday night after members of the Supreme Council for Culture (SCC) voted in an annual meeting in Cairo.

The Nile Award – the highest honour – was handed to three influential figures: film director Ali Badrakhan (Arts); the late critic and Andalusian studies specialist El-Taher Makki (Literature); and Sabry El-Shabrawi, Associate Professor of Management at the American University in cairo (Social Sciences).

In addition to their gold medals, each winner will receive EGP 400,000.

Appreciation Awards went to nine people, along with the prize money of EGP 200,000 each: Zakaria Anany, Mostafa Damarany, and Nabil Abdel-Hamid (Literature); Samir Khafag, Ahmed Shiha, and Sabry Mansour (Arts); former culture minister Shaker Abdel-Hamid, late Islamic philosophy professor Mosfata Labib and Mohamed Riad (Social Sciences).

There were six recipients of the Excellency Awards: writer Gar El-Naby El-Helw (Literature); cinematographer Tarek El-Telmissany and visual artist Sohair Othman (Arts); and Mohamed Shuman, Mona Hagga and Nabil Luka Bebawy (Social Sciences).

The Excellency Award is worth, 100,000 EGP and a silver Medal.

The SCC members select the winners from a list presented by cultural institutions several months before the vote.

The prizes are granted in the fields of social science, the arts and literature and are distributed across four divisions: the Encouragement Award, the Excellency Award, the Appreciation Award and the Nile Award, which is the highest honor.

Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.