Last Update 0:37
Thursday, 23 May 2019

Tantawi names his 10 non-elected parliamentarians

Egypt's military ruler appoints 10 members to the country's People's Assembly

Ahram Online, Saturday 21 Jan 2012
Views: 2587
Views: 2587

Egypt’s Field Marshal, and de-facto president, Mohamed Hussein Tantawi has announced the names of the ten parliamentarians directly appointed by the ruling military council.

The ten non-elected members of the upcoming People's Assembly are: Tarek Makram Shaker, Yasser Salah Abdel Megid, Abdullah Mohamed El-Mogazi, Abdullah Selim Gahama, George Nagi Mesiha, Sherif Mohamed Abdel Hamid, Omar Saber Abdel Gelil, Suzie Adly Nashed, Bryan Malak Kamal and Hana Girgis Gris.

The names of the appointed parliamentarians were revealed shortly after the announcement of the results for the 332 party list seats. In total, there are 508 seats in the lower parliamentary house.

The new People's Assembly is scheduled to hold its first session on Monday, 23 January.

Short link:


Ahram Online welcomes readers' comments on all issues covered by the site, along with any criticisms and/or corrections. Readers are asked to limit their feedback to a maximum of 1000 characters (roughly 200 words). All comments/criticisms will, however, be subject to the following code
  • We will not publish comments which contain rude or abusive language, libelous statements, slander and personal attacks against any person/s.
  • We will not publish comments which contain racist remarks or any kind of racial or religious incitement against any group of people, in Egypt or outside it.
  • We welcome criticism of our reports and articles but we will not publish personal attacks, slander or fabrications directed against our reporters and contributing writers.
  • We reserve the right to correct, when at all possible, obvious errors in spelling and grammar. However, due to time and staffing constraints such corrections will not be made across the board or on a regular basis.

© 2010 Ahram Online.