Bacca appears to touch ball twice in converting Milan penalty

Reuters , Sunday 26 Feb 2017

Bacca
AC Milan's Colombian forward Carlos Bacca vies for the ball with Fiorentina's Argentinian defender Gonzalo Rodriguez during the Italian Serie A football match between AC Milan and Fiorentina at San Siro Stadium in Milan on February 19, 2017. (AFP)

A controversially converted Carlos Bacca penalty gave AC Milan a 1-0 win at Sassuolo on Sunday as the losing side argued that the goal should have been disallowed because the Colombian forward touched the ball twice.

 
Bacca sent the ball into the corner in the 22nd minute but slipped as the took the kick and replays suggested that, in doing so, he may have touched the ball with both feet.
 
Sassuolo, who had missed their own penalty minutes earlier when Domenico Berardi sent his shot wide, immediately surrounded the referee but their protests were waved away.
 
Sassuolo had two further penalty appeals turned down in the second half and were also foiled when Milan goalkeeper Gianluigi Donnarumma, celebrating his 18th birthday, made a fine save to turn away a deflected Berardi shot.
 
Milan are seventh with 47 points, the win keeping them in the race for a European place next season.
 
Ciro Immobile converted a second-half penalty, controversially awarded for handball by Ali Adnan, to give fifth-placed Lazio a 1-0 win at home to Udinese.
Short link: