Tantawi names his 10 non-elected parliamentarians

Ahram Online, Saturday 21 Jan 2012

Egypt's military ruler appoints 10 members to the country's People's Assembly

Egypt’s Field Marshal, and de-facto president, Mohamed Hussein Tantawi has announced the names of the ten parliamentarians directly appointed by the ruling military council.

The ten non-elected members of the upcoming People's Assembly are: Tarek Makram Shaker, Yasser Salah Abdel Megid, Abdullah Mohamed El-Mogazi, Abdullah Selim Gahama, George Nagi Mesiha, Sherif Mohamed Abdel Hamid, Omar Saber Abdel Gelil, Suzie Adly Nashed, Bryan Malak Kamal and Hana Girgis Gris.

The names of the appointed parliamentarians were revealed shortly after the announcement of the results for the 332 party list seats. In total, there are 508 seats in the lower parliamentary house.

The new People's Assembly is scheduled to hold its first session on Monday, 23 January.

Short link: