Sudan military names three members for sovereign council: Sky News Arabia

Reuters , Saturday 17 Aug 2019

General Abdel Fattah al-Burhan (C-R), chief of Sudan's ruling Transitional Military Council (TMC), waves a baton as he arrives for a ceremony to sign a "constitutional declaration" that paves the way for a transition to civilian rule, in the capital Khartoum on August 17, 2019 (Photo: AFP)

Sudan's sovereign council will include Transitional Military Council (TMC) head Abdel Fattah al-Burhan, his deputy Mohamed Hamdan Dagalo and Lieutenant General Yasser Al-Atta, the TMC's spokesperson said to Sky News Arabia.

Under a power-sharing agreement the sovereign council will include five members selected by the TMC, five picked by the main opposition coalition, and one agreed upon by both sides.

The military's two remaining members will be named at a later time, Shams El Din Kabbashi said.

Search Keywords:
Short link: