Winners of 17th Sawiris Cultural Awards announced

Mohammed Saad , Sunday 9 Jan 2022

The winners of the 17th edition of Sawiris Cultural Awards were announced on Saturday in a ceremony at Egypt’s freshly inaugurated National Museum of Egyptian civilization.

 Sawiris Cultural Awards
Logo of the 17th edition of Sawiris Cultural Awards

This was a remarkable change of venue for the awards, which were usually held at the 1,300-seat main hall of the Opera House.

This edition is the largest in terms of the number of submitted works. A total of 1,304 literary works were submitted to various fields of the award, and were reviewed by seven judging panels. This number surpasses last year’s record of 1,263 submissions.

This year’s edition saw the introduction of a new award for the best writer for children literature under 12, which was won by Ahmed Tosson for his text Man Youeed Al-Dif’a lel Madina (Who would bring back the warmth to the city?).

While the best children’s book illustration went to Samir Abdel-Ghany, whose illustrations accompanied the text of the children’s book Ma Qabl Al-Bateekh (What came before the Watermelon).

Launched 16 years ago with an endowment from business tycoons Samih and Naguib Sawiris, the Sawiris Cultural Awards have become one of Egypt's most prestigious cultural awards.

Naguib Sawiris said in the ceremony that the awards ‘are a source of pride for the Sawiris family.’ He also stressed the importance of the ‘vital role’ of Sawiris Development Foundation, which runs the awards in supporting culture saying it has become ‘one of the most important supporters of culture in Egypt.’

Here is a full list of the winners of the 17th edition:

1) Best Novel by an Established Writer

Adel Asaad Merry for his novel Khoyot Akmishat Azzat (The Fabric threads of the Self).

Mohamed Abu-Zeid for his novel Ankabout fil Qalb (A Spider in the Heart).

2) Best Short-Story Collection by an Established Writer

Ossama Habachi for his collection Hawel Alla Tarani (Try not to see me).

Mohamed Abdel-Naby for his collection Kan Yama Kan (Once Upon A Time).

3) Best Novel by an Emerging Writer

Areej Gamal for her novel Ana Arwy Ya Mariam (I’m Narrating Mariam). The novel also won the translation award, which means that the novel will be translated and Published in English.

Youssef Nabil for his novel Alliq’a Al-Akheer (The Last Meeting).

4) Best Short-Story Collection by an Emerging Writer

Omaima Sobhy for her collection, Ro’a Al-Madina AlMoqadasa (Sights of the Sacred City)

Amira Badawy for her collection Sett Zaway Lelsallah (Six Prayer Venues)

Mohamed Abdallah for his collection Nabillion wal Qird (Napoleon and Monkey)

5) Best Scenario by an Established Writer

Dina Hamza for her scenario Elag Tabii (Physical Therapy)

6) Best Scenario by an Emerging Writer

Salma Abbas for her scenario Arab’ Ayam w Youm (4 Days and a Day).

7) Best Playwright

Ibrahim El-Hosseiny for his playwright Bab Ishq (A Love Door)

El-Sayed Faheem for his work Seerat Bani Fahman (The Legend of Bani Fahman).

8) Literary Criticism

Mohsen El-Ballasy for his work Rehlat Kamel El-Telmisany (The Journey of Kamel El-Telmisany)

Short link: