Galal names uncapped Hamdy among 12 foreign-based players in his first Egypt list

Mahmoud Sheleib , Monday 16 May 2022

Egypt's new coach Ehab Galal has named Montreal playmaker Ahmed Hamdy in a preliminary list of 12 foreign-based players for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers scheduled for June.

Ehab Galal
Egyptian national team coach Ehab Galal


The 24-year-old Hamdy – who started his career with Cairo giants Ahly – has represented Egypt at youth levels but never made it to the senior squad.

Hamdy failed to make an impact at Ahly before moving to Gouna, then joined CF Montreal of Canada in 2021.

Skipper and Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah, Basaksehir winger Mahmoud Trezeguet and Arsenal's midfielder Mohamed Elneny top the list, which also includes five recalls.

Galal included midfielder Sam Morsy, who plays for Ipswich Town, which plays in League One, the third tier of the English football system. Morsy made his debut with the Pharaohs in August 2016, but he participated in only seven games, four of which were friendly matches. He was last included in November 2018.

Konyaspor striker Ahmed ‘Kouka’ Hassan has been recalled for the first time since October 2021. Malatyaspor full back Karim Hafez, who has 7 caps under his belt, is back for the first time since March 2019.

The 28-year-old forward Mostafa Fathi is among the returnees, especially after his notable performance with his Saudi club Al-Taawon, which convinced Galal to bring him back to the team. Fathi has 17 caps, and his latest national duty was with the Pharaohs at the 3rd place play-off of the FIFA Arab Cup in December 2021.

Ahmed Yasser Rayan, who plays for Turkey’s Altay on loan from Ahly, rejoined the national team since his last participation in November 2021. He played only three games with the national team.

Towering defender Ahmed Hegazi is the most notable absentee, as he is still out of action since sustaining a muscle injury during the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations in January.

The Pharaohs will start their qualifying campaign on 5 June against Guinea at home then will play Ethiopia in Adis Ababa four days later.

The 12-man list:

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Mohamed Elneny (Arsenal), Mahmoud ‘Trezeguet’ Hassan (Basaksehir), Ahmed Hegazi (Ittihad Jeddah), Omar Marmoush (Stuttgart), Mostafa Mohamed (Galatasaray), Ahmed ‘Kouka’ Hassan (Konyaspor), Mostafa Fathi (Al-Taawon), Ahmed Hamdy (CF Montreal), Sam Morsy (Ipswich Town), Ahmed Yasser Rayan (Altay), Karim Hafez (Malatyaspor).

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Search Keywords:
Short link: