Egypt’s coach Galal calls on 7 Ahly players in final squad for AFCON qualifiers

Ahram Online , Tuesday 31 May 2022

Egypt’s national team coach Ehab Galal added seven Ahly players in addition to Malatyaspor’s full back Karim Hafez to the Pharaohs’ squad for the upcoming African Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifiers.

Ehab Galal
Egypt s national team coach Ehab Galal during the Egyptian national team training on Monday 30 May, 2022. Photo courtesy of EFA Facebook page.


The newly assigned coach announced a 21-player squad list on Monday and decided to reveal which of the Red Devils he was calling on after their match against Wydad in the African Champions League final, which ended with Ahly’s loss.

Galal called from the Reds Mohamed El-Shennawi, Yasser Ibrahim, Ayman Ashraf, Hamdi Fathi, Amr El-Sulaya, Mohamed Abdel-Moneim, and Mohamed ‘Afsha’ Magdi.

The Pharaohs will be starting their Group D campaign in the AFCON qualifiers with a clash with Guinea on 5 June at home and Ethiopia four days later on their turf.

The 54-year-old coach, who took over the national team following the departure of Portuguese Carlos Queiroz last month, named a handful of rookie players in a preliminary 44-man squad last week — including domestic and foreign based-players — before excluding a number of them in the final squad.

Egypt’s 29-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Mohamed El-Shennawi (Ahly), Mohamed Abu Gabal (Zamalek), Mohamed Sobhi (Pharco FC), Mahmoud Gad (Enppi)

Defenders: Yasser Ibrahim, Ayman Ashraf, Mohamed Abdel-Moneim (Ahly), Omar Gaber (Pyramids FC), Omar Kamal (Future FC), Mahmoud Alaa, Mahmoud Hamdi El-Wench, Ahmed Fattouh (Zamalek), Ahmed Hegazi (Ittihad Jeddah - Saudi Arabia), Karim Hafez (Malatyaspor)

Midfielders: Hamdi Fathi, Amr El-Sulaya, Mohamed ‘Afsha’ Magdi (Ahly), Mohamed Elneny (Arsenal - England), Mohanad Lashin (Talae El-Geish), Emam Ashour (Zamalek), Ahmed Hamdy (CF Montreal - Canada)

Strikers: Mohamed Salah (Liverpool - England), Ahmed ‘Zizo’ Sayed (Zamalek), Mahmoud ‘Trezeguet’ Hassan (Basaksehir - Turkey), Omar Marmoush (Stuttgart - Germany), Mostafa Mohamed (Galatasaray - Turkey), Mohamed Ibrahim (Ceramica Cleopatra), Ibrahim Adel (Pyramids FC), Ahmed Atef (Future FC).

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link: