Egypt's Mostaqbal Watan Party dominates top posts in parliament's 25 committees

Gamal Essam El-Din , Sunday 2 Oct 2022

The pro-government Mostaqbal Watan (the Nation's Future) Party has dominated the elections for the leading posts of the Egyptian parliament's 25 committees for the third legislative season, which kicked off on Sunday.

A file photo of the Egyptian parliament. Ahram File Photo


MPs meet at the beginning of each parliamentary session to elect the senior members of the House’s 25 committees, with each MP required to select a head, two deputies, and one secretary-general for each committee.

The Mostaqbal Watan Party holds a majority of 316 seats (54 percent) out of a total 596 in Egypt's House of Representatives.

The following is a complete list of Mostaqbal Watan MPs who were elected chairmen of 18 parliamentary committees. The 18 Mostaqbal Watan MPs won uncontested.

The Sports and Youth Committee: Mahmoud Hussein

The Social Solidarity Committee: Abdel-Hadi El-Qasabi

The Education Committee: Sami Hashem

The Complaints and Proposals Committee: Atef Nasser

The Tourism and Civil Aviation Committee: Nora Ali

The Agriculture and Irrigation Committee: Hesham El-Hosary

The Energy and Environment Committee: Hossam El-Din Awadallah Saleh

The Telecommunications and Information Technology Committee: Ahmed Badawi

The Housing Committee: Emad Saad Hammouda

The Transportation Committee: Alaa Abed

The Economic Affairs Committee: Mohamed Soliman

The Small and Medium-Scale Enterprises Committee: Mohamed Kamal Marie

The Human Rights Committee: Tarek Radwan

The Foreign Affairs Committee: Karim Darwish

The Health Affairs Committee: Ashraf Hatem

The Local Administration Committee: Ahmed El-Signi

The Arab Affairs Committee: Youssri El-Moghazi

The Defence and National Defence Committee: Ahmed El-Awadi

Five public figures picked by President Abdel-Fattah El-Sisi were also elected uncontested as chairmen of parliamentary committees: 

The Labour Force Committee: Adel Abdel-Fadil

The Religious Affairs Committee: Ali Gomaa

The Budget and Planning Committee: Fakhry El-Fiqi

The Culture, Media and Antiquities Committee: Doreya Sharafeddin

The Constitutional and Legislative Affairs Committee: Ibrahim El-Heneidi 

Results also show that two MPs, one independent and one affiliated with the opposition Egyptian Freedom Party, were elected chairmen of the following parliamentary committees: 

The African Affairs Committee: Independent Businessman Sherif El-Gabali

The Industrial Committee: Businessman and head of the Egyptian Freedom party Moataz Mohamed Mahmoud

House speaker Hanafi Gibali announced that six MPs were approved as heads of the parliamentary groups of six political parties. These are:

Mostaqbal Watan: Ashraf Rashad

The Guardians of the Nation: Ahmed Shalaby

The Congress: Mohamed El-Sayed Tolba

The Egyptian Freedom: Mohamed Attia El-Fayoumi

El-Nour: Ahmed Khalil

El-Tagammu: Atef Meghawri

At the end of Sunday's session, speaker Gibali revealed that three government-drafted bills had been referred to the House to be discussed and voted on. The first is a legislative amendment to the law regulating compensations related to general contracting, supplies and service contracts. The second and third ones are amendments to the laws regulating the performance of the Police Academy and the Police Institution.

The House's next plenary meeting will be held on 16 October.

Short link: